Big Ten Conference Announces Men's Soccer Postseason Honors

Andrew Wolverton

Nov. 14, 2013

 Big Ten Men's Soccer Honors Get Acrobat Reader

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced the 2013 men’s soccer All-Big Ten teams and individual honors Thursday, with four Big Ten teams earning accolades. Wisconsin’s Tomislav Zadro claimed Big Ten Offensive Player of the year honors, while teammate AJ Cochran was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year. Tyler Arnone of Michigan was named Midfielder of the Year, and Indiana’s Tommy Thompson was selected as Freshman of the Year. Penn State’s Andrew Wolverton claimed Goalkeeper of the Year accolades, while Nittany Lion head coach Bob Warming was named Big Ten Coach of the Year.

Zadro finished the regular season with 15 points, including four goals and seven assists. He was a catalyst for a Wisconsin offense that led the Big Ten in points (110) and goals (37). The Toronto, Ont., native was named the Big Ten Co-Offensive Player of the Week on Sept. 9.

Cochran contributed to a back line that allowed just eight goals during Big Ten play. He started all 18 regular season games, scoring three goals, including two game-winners. He was tabbed the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week on Oct. 14. Cochran was a first-team All-Big Ten defender last season.

Arnone earned the Big Ten’s first-ever Midfielder of the Year honor. He collected nine points during the regular season with a team-high five assists and two goals.

Wolverton was named the Big Ten’s first Goalkeeper of the Year after posting five shutouts during the regular season and leading the Nittany Lions to the Big Ten Championship. He also made 63 saves and recorded a goals-against-average of 0.89. Wolverton was named an All-Big Ten second-team goalkeeper in 2012.

Thompson collected 11 points during his debut season, scoring five goals and recording one assist. He started 12 matches, and led the Hoosiers in shots (42).

Warming earned Coach of the Year honors for the second-straight year after guiding Penn State to back-to-back Big Ten titles. The Nittany Lions finished the regular season with an 11-5-1 record (5-1-0 Big Ten) and entered the Big Ten Tournament ranked No. 16 in the NSCAA/NCAA Coaches Top 25 poll.

Zadro, Cochran, Arnone and Wolverton all earned spots on the All-Big Ten first team and were joined by Michigan State’s Jay Chapman, Kevin Cope and Tim Kreutz, Northwestern’s Joey Calistri and Chris Ritter, Penn State’s Martin Seiler and Jordan Tyler and Wisconsin’s Nick Janus. Arnone, Cope and Cochran were unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selections. The complete All-Big Ten teams, including the All-Freshman team, is attached above.

The Big Ten also recognized seven Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees is attached above.