NCAA Men's Soccer Championship to Again Feature Five Big Ten Teams

Nov. 16, 2009

NCAA Interactive Bracket

NCAA Release

Big Ten champion Ohio State leads a group of five conference teams that have been selected to compete in the 2009 NCAA Division I Men’s Soccer Championship. The teams will be vying for the right to compete at the 2009 NCAA Men's College Cup, scheduled to take place December 11 and 13 in Cary, N.C., at WakeMed Soccer Park. North Carolina State University, the Town of Cary and the Capital Area Soccer League will serve as Championship host.

The 48-team field, announced Monday evening, features OSU as the No. 4 seed. Three additional conference programs earned first-round byes in No. 7 Penn State, No. 9 Northwestern and No. 14 Michigan State.

Indiana also made the field, earning one of the 27 at-large berths to give the Big Ten five teams in the postseason event for the second-straight year. The Hoosiers are making their 23rd-straight appearance in the NCAA Championship and 34th overall and will enter this weekend’s opening round with an NCAA-best .745 (74-24-4) winning percentage in the tournament. 

The handful of NCAA squads marks the second highest total in conference annals (six in 2004).  Indiana, Michigan State, Ohio State and Northwestern each earned bids in the field of 48 last year while Penn State returns to the bracket for the first time since 2005.

With the new NCAA Division I Men's Soccer tournament format, all first-round games will be played Thursday, November 19, while all second-round action will take place Sunday, November 22.

Please view below for the opening round matchups.

Bloomington, Ind.
First Round - Indiana vs. Louisville (Nov. 19, 7 p.m. ET)

South Bend, Ind.
First round - Green Bay at Notre Dame
Second round - Winner at No. 9 Northwestern (Nov. 22, 2 p.m. ET)

Des Moines, Iowa
First round - Western Illinois at Drake
Second round - Winner at No. 4 Ohio State (Nov. 22, 1 p.m. ET)

Durham, N.C.

First round - Winthrop at Duke
Second round - Winner at No. 14 Michigan State (Nov. 22, 1 p.m. ET)

College Park, Md.

First round - Loyola (Maryland) at Maryland
Second round - Winner at No. 7 Penn State (Nov. 22, 1 p.m. ET)