Five Big Ten Men's Soccer Teams Earn Bids to 2013 NCAA Tournament

Paul Yonga

Nov. 18, 2013

NCAA Tournament Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

Five Big Ten men's soccer teams earned berths to the 2013 NCAA Division I Men's Soccer Championship, it was announced Monday. Indiana, Michigan State, Northwestern, Penn State and Wisconsin all secured bids, marking the fourth time in the last six years the Big Ten has earned five NCAA Tournament berths.

After winning the Big Ten Tournament, Indiana will make its 27th consecutive appearance in the NCAA Tournament and look to defend its 2012 national title. The eight-time NCAA champion Hoosiers will travel to Akron for a 7 p.m. ET match on Thursday.

Michigan State, which finished the season with a 12-5-3 record, earned the No. 11 seed and a first-round bye in the NCAA Tournament. The Spartans will face the winner of the Thursday's Louisville-Denver game at 1 p.m. ET on Sunday in East Lansing, Mich.

Northwestern is set to make its third consecutive appearance in the NCAA Tournament after finishing the season with a 10-7-3 mark. The Wildcats will welcome Bradley for an 8 p.m. ET contest on Thursday.

Penn State earned its 31st berth into the NCAA Championship after concluding the season with an 11-5-2 record and winning the Big Ten title. The Nittany Lions will entertain St. Francis Brooklyn at 7 p.m. ET on Thursday.

Wisconsin will make its first appearance in the NCAA Tournament since winning the national championship in 1995. The Badgers will host Milwaukee at 8 p.m. ET on Thursday.

The first round of the NCAA Tournament will be played on Thursday, while second-round games are scheduled for Sunday. The third round is slated for Dec. 1, while the quarterfinals will take place from Dec. 6-Dec. 7. ESPNU will air the 2013 NCAA Men's College Cup at PPL Park in Philadelphia, with semifinal games on Dec. 13 and the championship match on Dec. 15.