Big Ten Honors Fall Academic All-Big Ten Recipients

Dec. 7, 2011

Fall Academic All-Big Ten Team Get Acrobat Reader

Park Ridge, Ill.—The Big Ten Conference on Wednesday recognized a total of 788 fall sports student-athletes who have been named to the Academic All-Conference team. The list of honored student-athletes features 68 field hockey players, 215 football players, 76 men’s and 134 women’s cross country runners, 58 men’s and 160 women’s soccer players and 77 volleyball players. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

At least 14 of these student-athletes have maintained unblemished GPAs. Two field hockey student-athletes boast cumulative 4.0 GPAs in Northwestern’s Megan Jamieson (Gr., Sports Administration) and Ohio State’s Nora Murer (So., Business-Marketing), as do four football players in Michigan State’s Mike Sadler (Jr., Applied Engineering Sciences), Nebraska’s Sean Fisher (Sr., Business Administration/Pre-Medicine), Northwestern’s Jacob Schmidt (Gr., Higher Education Administration) and Penn State’s John Urschel (Jr., Mathematics), three women’s cross country runners in Iowa’s Kelsey Hart (Jr., Integrative Physiology), Nebraska’s Katie White (Sr., Nutrition Science) and Penn State’s Kalyn Fisher (So., Education), three women’s soccer players in Indiana’s Rebecca Dreher (So., Biology), Nebraska’s Amy Swearer (So., Criminology & Criminal Justice) and Purdue’s Mollie Kuramoto (So., Interdisciplinary Film & Video) and a pair of volleyball players in Michigan State’s Jenilee Rathje (Gr., Kinesiology) and Penn State’s Margaret Harding (So., Agricultural Sciences)

The conference office also awards Academic All-Big Ten distinction in the winter and spring seasons and will present the Distinguished Scholar Award at the end of the academic year. Student-athletes eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letterwinners in at least their second year in residence at their institution. Qualifying student-athletes must have earned a GPA of 3.7 or higher for the current academic year, excluding summer school. The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference Faculty Representatives as an addition to the conference’s Academic All-Big Ten program.

The complete listing of 2011 Fall Sports Academic All-Big Ten honorees can be found by clicking the link at the top of this story.