All-America Selections

Dec. 15, 2014

The 2014 NSCAA/NCAA Division I Men’s All-America Teams were announced, with four Big Ten men’s soccer players earning accolades. Michigan State’s Jay Chapman and Indiana’s Tanner Thompson received first-team nods, while Northwestern’s Tyler Miller and Michigan State’s Fatai Alashe earned second-team honors.

Chapman is a two-time All-Big Ten and NSCAA All-Region honoree. The Campbellford, Ontario, native has started all but one of his collegiate games. Chapman was previously named Big Ten Midfielder of the Year and a 2014 MAC Hermann Trophy semifinalist. He had five goals and five assists this season. Three out of his four assists this season were on game-winning goals.

Thompson started all 22 matches in 2014, earning All-Big Ten first team honors while leading the team in goals scored (6) and total points (15). He was named one of 16 finalists for the MAC Hermann Trophy.

Miller finished the 2014 campaign leading the Big Ten in goals against average (0.58) and save percentage (.854), and tallied nine shutouts this season. He was a first-team All-Big Ten selection in 2011 and 2012. Miller earned Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week honors on Sept. 22 and Nov. 6.

Alashe is a two-time Big Ten All-Tournament team honoree. The Northville, Michigan, native has started 80 games as a Spartan, including every match in 2014. Alashe had two goals and one assist this season. He netted the final penalty kick against Washington in the Sweet 16 to allow MSU to advance to the Elite Eight for the second consecutive year.

For the complete list of NSCAA/NCAA Division I Men's All-America Teams, click here.