2014 Soccer Season In Review

Dec. 16, 2014

The Big Ten enjoyed a successful 2014 men's soccer season that concluded with Indiana, Maryland, Michigan State, Northwestern, Ohio State and Penn State all securing bids to the 2014 NCAA Division I Men's Soccer Tournament. The six bids tied the 2004 Big Ten record of six teams advancing to the tournament.

NCAA Tournament: Six Big Ten men's soccer teams earned berths to the 2014 NCAA Division I Men's Soccer Championship. Indiana, Maryland, Michigan State, Northwestern, Ohio State and Penn State all secured bids, tying the 2004 Big Ten record of six teams advancing to the tournament. Indiana earned the No. 5 seed and a first-round bye in its 39th NCAA Tournament appearance. After winning the Big Ten Championship and Big Ten Tournament titles, Maryland earned the No. 4 seed in its 32nd NCAA Tournament appearance. Michigan State earned a first-round bye as a No. 3 seed in the NCAA Tournament. The Spartans advanced to the quarterfinals of the tournament, but were defeated by Providence. Northwestern earned its ninth berth into the NCAA Tournament. Ohio State competed in its ninth NCAA Tournament, and advanced to the second round. Penn State earned its 32nd berth into the NCAA Tournament. For the full 2014 NCAA Division I Men's Soccer Tournament bracket, click here.

Regular-Season Crown: The Big Ten regular-season title came down to the last week of play. Maryland earned the No. 1 seed after clinching the outright Big Ten Championship in its first year in the conference by defeating Rutgers 3-2 on Nov. 5.

Big Ten Tournament Title: The No. 1 seeded Maryland men's soccer team won its first Big Ten Tournament Championship after defeating No. 6 Indiana, 2-1, in the championship match at Ludwig Field in College Park, Md. The Terrapins earned the Big Ten's automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament. For more coverage of the Big Ten Tournament, click here.

Where We Rank: The National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) released its final weekly rankings with Michigan State, Indiana, Maryland and Penn State garnering recognition among the top 25, while Ohio State and Northwestern were also receiving votes. For the complete poll, click here.

End-of-Year Awards: The Big Ten Conference announced the 2014 Men's Soccer All-Big Ten teams and individual honors, with five Big Ten teams earning accolades. Penn State's Connor Maloney collected Offensive Player of the Year honors, Northwestern's Nikko Boxall was named Defensive Player of the Year, Michigan State's Jay Chapman claimed Midfielder of the Year plaudits and Indiana's Grant Lillard was tabbed Freshman of the Year. Northwestern's Tyler Miller was a unanimous selection for Goalkeeper of the Year, while Ohio State's John Bluem was named Big Ten Coach of the Year. For a complete listing of postseason honors and All-Big Ten teams, click here.

All-America Accolades: The 2014 NSCAA/NCAA Division I Men's All-America Teams were announced, with four Big Ten men's soccer players earning accolades. Michigan State's Jay Chapman and Indiana's Tanner Thompson received first-team nods, while Northwestern's Tyler Miller and Michigan State's Fatai Alashe earned second-team honors. For more information on the Big Ten's representation on the All-America teams, click here.

Final National Stats: Northwestern's Tyler Miller appeared among the leaders in the final statistics during the 2014 season. He ranked No. 3 in save percentage with .854. For the complete national rankings, click here.

Senior CLASS: Alex Ivanov, standout goalkeeper of Ohio State University who became the first Academic All-American in Buckeyes' men's soccer history, was selected in nationwide balloting as the 2014 Senior CLASS Award® winner in NCAA® Division I men's soccer. For more information about Ivanov and the Senior CLASS Award, click here.

Head of Class: The Big Ten Conference recognized a total of 977 fall sports student-athletes who have been named to the Academic All-Conference team, which included 88 men's soccer players. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher. At least 26 of these student-athletes have maintained unblemished cumulative GPAs, including men's soccer player Brian Winterfield of Michigan State. For the complete Academic All-Big Ten release, click here.