Big Ten Men's Soccer Final Release

Dec. 17, 2008

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The 2008 men’s soccer season came to a close on Sunday, Dec. 13 with Maryland winning the NCAA Championship.  The Big Ten fielded five teams in the NCAA event in Indiana, Michigan, Michigan State, Northwestern and Ohio State.  The Hoosiers and the Wildcats advanced to the quarterfinals before being eliminated.  Four conference athletes earned NSCAA/adidas All-America honors with MSU’s Doug DeMartin taking home second-team accolades.  The third team consisted of Indiana’s Brad Ring, Michigan’s Michael Holody and Northwestern’s Mark Blades

Indiana saw their season end early with a 3-2 overtime loss to No. 3 seed St. John’s in the quarterfinals.  In the previous round, the Hoosiers eliminated conference foe Michigan by a score of 3-0.  Northwestern’s title run ended with 1-0 loss to No. 13 seed North Carolina also in the quarterfinals.  The Wildcats had beaten Loyola (Ill.), Notre Dame and Akron in the previous three rounds to advance.  Ohio State won the decision against Oakland in the first round, outscoring the Grizzlies 4-3 in penalty kicks then suffered a 1-0 double overtime loss to Akron in Round 2.  Michigan State was knocked out of the Championship by Illinois-Chicago after the Flames claimed a 3-2 penalty kick advantage.