Michigan and Purdue Collect Big Ten Men's Swimming & Diving Awards

Purdue's Layne Rogers

Jan. 7, 2014

Swimmer of the Week
Bruno Ortiz, Michigan
Jr. – Tokyo, Japan – St. Mary’s International

  • Posted four first-place finishes to help Michigan earn its fifth consecutive Orange Bowl Classic title
  • Placed first in the 50-meter freestyle (23.10), 50-meter breaststroke (28.07), 200-meter freestyle relay (1:32.31) and 200-meter medley relay (1:40.04)
  • Collects his second Swimmer of the Week award
  • Last Michigan Swimmer of the Week: Dylan Bosch (Dec. 10, 2013)

Diver of the Week
Layne Rogers, Purdue
So. – West Lafayette, Ind. - Harrison

  • Placed first in the one-meter diving competition (359.35), meeting NCAA Zone Diving Standards
  • Helped Purdue defeat Hawaii, 134-103
  • Collects his second Diver of the Week award and fifth conference honor
  • Last Purdue Diver of the Week: Jamie Bissett (Oct. 22, 2013)

Freshman of the Week
Austin Flager, Purdue
Fr. – Middlesbury, Ind. – Northridge

  • Placed first in the 50-yard freestyle (20.72) and 200-yard medley relay (1:32.71) and second in the 400-yard freestyle relay (3:05.80)
  • Both relay times were season-best times for the relay team
  • Earns his first Big Ten weekly award
  • Last Purdue Freshman of the Week: Filip Bujoczek (Nov. 19, 2013)

2013-14 Big Ten Men’s Swimmer/Diver of the Week

Oct. 1   
S: Bruno Ortiz, Jr., MICH
D: James Ross, Jr., MICH
F: Nick Zito, IOWA

Oct. 8   
S: Daryl Turner, Fr., MINN
D: Manny Pollard, So., MINN
F: Brett Pinfold, WIS

Oct. 15 
S: John Wojciechowski, Sr., MICH
D: Darian Schmidt, Sr., IND
F: Steffen Hillmer, OSU



Oct. 22 
S: John Hauser, Sr., PSU
D: Jamie Bissett, Jr., PUR
F: Daryl Turner, MINN

Oct. 29 
S: Richard Funk, Jr., MICH
D: Stephen Ettienne, Jr., OSU
F: Matt McHugh, OSU

Nov. 5  
S: Roman Trussov, So., IOWA
D: Christian Holstein, Sr., OSU
F: Daryl Turner, MINN

Nov. 12
S: Shane Ryan, So., PSU
D: Dylan Zoe, So., MINN
F: Filip Bujoczek, PUR

Nov. 19
S: Derek Toomey, Sr., MINN
D: Andrew Cramer, Fr., NU
F: Filip Bujoczek, PUR

Nov. 26
S: Connor McDonald, Jr., OSU
D: Christian Holstein, Sr., OSU
F: Matt McHugh, OSU

Dec. 10
S: Dylan Bosch, So., MICH
D: Addison Boschult, So., IOWA
F: Daryl Turner, MINN

Dec. 24
S: No selection
D: Darian Schmidt, Sr., IND
F: No selection

Jan. 7    
S: Bruno Ortiz, Jr., MICH
D: Layne Rodgers, So., PUR
F: Austin Flager, PUR