Big Ten Men's Swimming & Diving Championships Release

Feb. 21, 2012

Championships Release Get Acrobat Reader

Championships Central

The Campus Recreation and Wellness Center on the campus of the University of Iowa will play host to the 2012 Big Ten Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships, which will begin Wednesday and conclude Saturday night. The championships begin Wednesday night with timed finals of the 200-yard medley relay and 800 freestyle relays at 6:30 p.m. CT. Competition will begin at 11 a.m. CT Thursday through Saturday with preliminary heats, while finals will be held at 6:30 p.m. CT nightly.

Thursday’s schedule features the 500 freestyle, 200 individual medley, 50 freestyle and 1-meter diving, while the 400 medley relay will be contested during the evening finals. Friday’s slate presents the 400 individual medley, 100 butterfly, 200 freestyle, 100 breaststroke, 100 backstroke and 3-meter diving, with the 200 freestyle relay contested in the evening. Saturday features the 200 backstroke, 100 freestyle, 200 breaststroke, 200 butterfly, 1,650 freestyle and platform diving, while the 400 freestyle relay will be contested during the evening.

Last season, Michigan won its second consecutive Big Ten Championship and 35th overall, recording 678 points over the four-day event. Indiana finished second with 604 points, and Ohio State was third with 593. Minnesota came in fourth with 505 points, and Purdue rounded out the top five with 343.5 points.

The defending champion Wolverines return a pair of individual winners from a year ago. Kyle Whitaker returns as the 200 and 400 individual medley champion, while Dan Madwed looks to defend his 200 freestyle and 200 butterfly titles.

Ohio State senior Andrew Elliott attempts to reclaim his 200 backstroke crown and improve upon his runner-up finish in the 100 backstroke from a year ago, while Indiana’s Cody Miller attempts to reclaim the 100- and 200 breaststroke event titles.

In the diving well, the Hoosier’s Zachary Nees looks to improve upon his second-place finish in the one-meter event, while Minnesota’s Kristoffer Jorgensen looks to build on last year’s second-place effort on the platform.

Last year’s relay events were led by Michigan, as the Wolverines won the 200 and 400 medley relays and the 800 freestyle relay. Minnesota took home 200 freestyle relay honors, and Ohio State won the 400 freestyle relay.

BTN will air tape-delay coverage of the Big Ten Men’s Swimming & Diving Championships at 10 a.m. ET on Saturday, March 3.