Divers Make a Splash in Day Two Prelims

For day two's diving event, the competitors moved up two meters to the three-meter springboard.  After dominating the prelims yesterday to earn five of the eight final's spots off of the one-meter board, Indiana had nine divers compete in the three-meter preliminary dives, four more than any other team in the field.  Ohio State's Mitch Richeson, who won the one-meter title on Thursday, took home the Big Ten championship in 2004 off the three-meter board.  Last year's Diver of the Year, Richeson set the conference championship record in the event last year with 653.75 points. 

After six preliminary dives, nine divers were cut to create a 24 diver semifinal field.  A third of the semifinalists earned spots in the finals Friday night.  Unlike off of the one-meter board, the divers' five semifinal scores are carried over to the finals in the three-meter event.  For the second day in a row, Indiana's Marc Carlton led the way heading into the finals.  This year's five time Big Ten Diver of the Week had the highest cumulative score and will carry 227.1 points into the finals.  Ohio State's Nick Hanneman finished with the second highest combined score and will take 190 of his points with him to the finals.  His teammate, Richeson, finished third and will have 209.5 banked points moving into the finals.  IU's Ryan Fagan was in fourth after the first two rounds and will have the second highest total, behind only Carlton, moving into the finals, with 212 points.  Purdue's Steven LoBue finished fifth and has 208.7 points moving on with him.  Ohio State's Kellen Harkness was next and will have 196.9 points when he begins the finals.  A pair of Hoosier teammates round out the eight finalists,  Jesse Rappaport will carry 192.45 points into the finals with him and Alex Burns will have 201.4. 

With Minnesota not placing any divers in the three-meter springboard finals, this could be an opportunity for the Hoosier divers to come up big for their team.

The finalists will have another six dives and will compete in reverse order from their preliminary finishing scores.  This is the first year that judging is not being done by conference diving coaches, five outside judges score the performances.  The highest and lowest totals are eliminated, then the three middle scores are added together and then multiplied by the individual dive's predetermined degree of difficulty to produce the divers final score.

Tonight's diving finals begin tonight at 8:42 p.m. Central Time.  Check back to BigTen.org for live results and continuing coverage of the 2005 Big Ten Men's Swimming and Diving Championships.