Michigan Captures 2011 Big Ten Championships

Feb. 26, 2011

Big Ten Championships Central
Final Recap

Michigan captured its 35th Big Ten Conference championship, on Saturday evening in front of spectactors at the University Aquatic Center in Minneapolis, Minn. The Wolverines earned the conference crown with 678 points, followed by Indiana with 604. Ohio State finished the meet in third place with 593 tallies, followed by Minnesota (505.5) and Purdue (343.5) rounding out the top five in the overall team standings.

Wolverine skipper Mike Bottom earned Coach of the Year honors while Purdue's Adam Soldati picked up his third straight Diving Coach of the Year award. For their efforts, Minnesota's Michael Richards and Purdue's David Boudia earn Swimmer and Diver of the Championships, respectively. Michigan newcomer Kyle Whitaker earned the nod as Freshman of the Year.

First Team All-Big Ten
Cody Miller, IND
Eric Ress, IND
Hassan Abdel Khalik, MICH
Sean Fletcher, MICH
Connor Jaeger, MICH
Neal Kennedy, MICH
Jan Konarzewski,MICH
Daniel Madwed, MICH
Miguel Ortiz, MICH
James Ridgeway, MICH
Sean Ryan, MICH
Kyle Whitaker, MICH
Zach Bolin, MINN
Curt Carlson, MINN
Michael Richards, MINN
Derek Toomey, MINN
Andrew Elliott, OSU
Tim Phillips, OSU
Jason Schnur, OSU
Zach Holmes, OSU
Lincoln Fahrbach, OSU
David Boudia, PUR

Second Team All-Big Ten
Zachary Nees, IND
Ryan Phelan, IOWA
Ryan Feeley, MICH
Dane Vanderkaay, MICH
Drew Brown, MINN
Kris Jorgensen, MINN
Alex Tyler, NU
Zachary Birnbrich, OSU
Elliott Keefer, OSU
Quincy Lee, OSU
Stephen Sakaris, OSU
Mitch Scherer, PSU

Sportsmanship Award
Andrew Taylor, IND
Max Dittmer, IOWA
Neal Kennedy, MICH
Ricky Forrest, MSU
Zach Weis, MINN
Peter Park, NU
Lincoln Fahrbach, OSU
John Austin, PSU
Drew Wolfred, PUR
Alex Riegert, WIS