Big Ten Conference Announces 2005 Men's Swimming and Diving Awards

Diver of the Championships
Marc Carlton; Indiana

Swimmer of the Championships
Matt Grevers; Northwestern

Diving Coach of the Year
Jeff Huber; Indiana

Swimming Coach of the Year
Bob Groseth; Northwestern

Swimming and Diving Freshman of the Year
Kyle Bubolz; Northwestern
With one individual and three team titles and a new Big Ten record under his belt, Northwestern's Kyle Bubolz was selected by the conference coaches as the 2005 Big Ten Freshman of the Year.

Diver of the Year
Marc Carlton; Indiana
In addition to winning two Big Ten Championships, both in record-breaking fashion, Indiana's Mark Carlton was honored five times as the Big Ten Diver of the Week and won 19 individual titles. In addition Marc Carlton was selected by the conference's coaches as the 2005 Big Ten Diver of the Year.

Swimmer of the Year
Peter Vanderkaay; Michigan
Michigan's Peter Vanderkaay took home individual titles in the 500-yard freestyle, 400-yard IM, and the 1,650-yard freestyle in addition to serving as the lead-off leg of the champion 800-yard freestyle relay. After winning a gold medal at the 2004 Olympic Games, Peter Vanderkaay won 24 races during the regular season. For his incredible performance, the Big Ten coaches honored him as the 2005 Big Ten Swimmer of the Year.

First Team All-Big Ten
Indiana- Marc Carlton, Kevin Swander
Michigan- Chris DeJong, Andrew Hurd, Davis Tarwater, Peter Vanderkaay
Minnesota- Igor Cerensek, Mario Delac, Adam Mitchell, Terry Silkaitis
Ohio State- Mitch Richeson
Northwestern- Mike Alexandrov, Kyle Bubolz, Ben Dexter, Matt Grevers, David Kormushoff, Matt Wever
Purdue- Louis Paul

Second Team All-Big Ten
Indiana- Murph Halasz, Ben Hesen, Lee Houchin, Brian Mariano, Colin Russell
Minnesota- Dan Berve, Sean McCaffrey, Justin Mortimer, Neil Osten, David Plummer, Jason Timmer, Ales Volcansek
Purdue- Giordan Pogioli
Wisconsin- Adam Mania

Big Ten Sportsmanship Award
The Conference office also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. These student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the Conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

Indiana- Scott Tanner
Iowa- Cam Dye
Michigan- Nick Douville
Michigan State- Chad Wilson
Minnesota- Nathan Bernier
Northwestern- Mike Gustafson
Ohio State- Rob Kauscher
Penn State- Mark Zucca
Purdue- Eric Prugh
Wisconsin- Joe Ebinger