Ohio State Captures 2010 Big Ten Championship

Feb. 27, 2010

Ohio State captured its 13th Big Ten Conference championship, and its first since 1956, on Sunday evening in front of a home crowd at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion. The Buckeyes earned the conference crown with 860.5 points – 355 more than second-place Michigan. Minnesota finished the meet in third place with 497 tallies, followed by Purdue (417) and Indiana (283) rounding out the top five in the overall team standings.

Buckeye skipper Bill Wadley earned Coach of the Year honors while Purdue’s Adam Soldati picked up his second straight Diving Coach of the Year award. For their efforts, Michigan’s Tyler Clary and Purdue’s David Boudia repeated their sweep over the yearly individual honors. Clary was lauded Big Ten Swimmer of the Year and of the Championships, while Boudia capped off his stellar sophomore campaign by claiming Diver of the Year and of the Championships laurels. Michigan State newcomer Jacob Jarzen was tabbed Freshman of the Year.

The Big Ten also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. These 11 student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year. Honorees for men’s swimming and diving are listed below along with 2010 All-Big Ten First and Second Team honorees.

Day Four Results

Full Recap

Final Team Standings
1. Ohio State – 860.5
2. Michigan – 715.5
3. Minnesota - 497
4. Purdue - 417
5. Indiana - 283
6. Iowa - 223
7. Penn State - 219
8. Wisconsin – 217
9. Michigan State – 205
10. Northwestern - 169

Swimmer of the Championships
– Tyler Clary, Michigan
Swimmer of the Year – Tyler Clary, Michigan
Diver of the Championships – David Boudia, Purdue
Diver of the Year – David Boudia, Purdue
Freshman of the Year – Jacob Jarzen , Michigan State
Diving Coach of the Year – Adam Soldati, Purdue
Swimming Coach of the Year – Bill Wadley, Ohio State 
Sportsmanship Honorees
Indiana – David Piercy
Iowa – Bryan Hill
Michigan – Chris Brady
Michigan State – David Garry
Minnesota – Tyler Jepson
Northwestern Peter Park
Ohio State – Joel Elber
Penn State – Brian Alden
Purdue – Nate Taylor
Wisconsin – Austin Cox
2010 All-Big Ten First Team
Aaron Oppel, Indiana
Chris Brady, Michigan
Tyler Clary, Michigan
Charlie Houchin, Michigan
Neal Kennedy, Michigan
Dan Madwed, Michigan
Alon Mandel, Michigan
James Ridgeway, Michigan
Andre Schultz, Michigan
Michael Richards, Minnesota
Joel Elber, Ohio State
Andrew Elliott, Ohio State
Lincoln Fahrbach, Ohio State
Elliott Keefer, Ohio State
George Markovic, Ohio State
Andrew Olson, Ohio State
Tim Phillips, Ohio State
Stefan Sigrist, Ohio State
David Boudia, Purdue
David Colturi, Purdue
2010 All-Big Ten Second-Team
Brian Chovanec, Indiana
Hassaan Abdel Khalik, Michigan
Ryan Feeley, Michigan
Kevin Baseheart, Minnesota
Ray Betuzzi, Minnesota
Zach Bolin, Minnesota
Curt Carlson, Minnesota
Andrew Bretscher, Ohio State
Sam Pelkey, Ohio State
Stephen Sakaris, Ohio State
Wes Wieser, Ohio State
Daniel Lester, Wisconsin