Big Ten Announces Men's Swimming and Diving All-Big Ten Teams

March 1, 2009


The Big Ten Conference announced the 2009 Men’s Swimming and Diving All-Big Ten teams and individual honors at the conclusion of the championships meet on Saturday.  Purdue brought home five awards with David Boudia collecting Big Ten Freshman of the Year and Diver of the Year and of the Championships.  Boilermaker general Dan Ross captured Coach of the Year honors while colleague Adam Soldati garnered Diving Coach of the Year.  Michigan’s Tyler Clary earned Big Ten Swimmer of the Year and of the Championships while leading his squad to a conference title.

Below is a listing of the All-Big Ten teams and the individual honorees.

First Team
Sal Barba, Michigan
Chris Brady, Michigan
Tyler Clary, Michigan
Curtis Dauw, Michigan
Jon Hiett, Michigan
Charlie Houchin, Michigan
Dan Madwed, Michigan
Alon Mandel, Michigan
Matt Patton, Michigan
Evan Ryser, Michigan
Bobby Savulich, Michigan
Andre Schultz, Michigan
Colin Lee-To, Minnesota
Nadav Kochavi, Minnesota
Anthony Portela, Minnesota
Steve Miller, Minnesota
Sam Pelkey, Ohio State
David Boudia, Purdue
Andrew Langenfeld, Purdue
Scottie Rice, Wisconsin

Second Team
Landon Marzullo, Indiana
Aaron Opell, Indiana
Eric Ress, Indiana
Kevin Baseheart, Minnesota
Karl Burdis, Minnesota
Curt Carlson, Minnesota
Mike Holmes, Minnesota
Michael Richards, Minnesota
Eric Nilsson, Northwestern
Jacob Busch, Ohio State
George Marcovic, Ohio State
Sean Moore, Ohio State
Andrew Olson, Ohio State
Matthias Sigrist, Ohio State
Burkley Showe, Ohio State
Dan Jung, Purdue
John Schmitt, Purdue
Ben Wachtel, Purdue

Individual Awards

Swimmer of the Year – Tyler Clary, Michigan
Swimmer of the Championships – Tyler Clary, Michigan
Freshman of the Year – David Boudia, Purdue
Diver of the Year – David Boudia, Purdue
Diver of the Championships – David Boudia, Purdue
Coach of the Year – Dan Ross, Purdue
Diving Coach of the Year – Adam Soldati, Purdue



Prior to Friday's finals honorees for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award from each team were recognized. The student-athletes chosen were individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.  Honorees for men’s swimming and diving are Indiana's Justin Peterfish, Iowa’s Ryan Evans, Michigan's Jamie Martone, Michigan State's Michael VanBeek, Minnesota’s Adam Weis, Northwestern's Adam Bedeman, Ohio State's Jake Busch, Penn State's Vince Reydams, Purdue's Andre Koop and Wisconsin's Luke Lengfeld.  These eleven student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.