Michigan Wins 2014 Big Ten Men's Swimming & Diving Championships

March 1, 2014

Complete Results Get Acrobat Reader

ANN ARBOR, Mich. - Michigan captured the 2014 Big Ten Men's Swimming & Diving Championship Saturday night at the Donald B. Canham Natatorium on the campus of the University of Michigan. The title marks the Wolverines' fourth consecutive crown and 38th overall.

Michigan compiled 889 points throughout the four-day event. Indiana finished second after collecting 564 points and Ohio State was third with 515 points. Minnesota finished fourth with 378 points, while Penn State recorded 349.5 points to finish fifth.

The Wolverines took home Big Ten titles in the 500-yard freestyle, 200-yard individual medley, 400-yard individual medley, 200-yard freestyle, 100-yard breaststroke, 1,650-yard freestyle, 200-yard butterfly, 200-yard medley relay, 400-yard medley relay, 400-yard freestyle relay and 800-yard freestyle relay.

Penn State's Shane Ryan was named the Swimmer of the Championships, while Indiana's Darian Schmidt was tabbed the Diver of the Championships. Minnesota's Jakub Maly was named the Big Ten Freshman of the Year. Michigan head coach Mike Bottom was tabbed the Swimming Coach of the Year for the fourth consecutive season, while Indiana diving coach Drew Johansen was named the Diving Coach of the Year.

The complete 2014 All-Big Ten Teams and Sportsmanship Award honorees are listed below.

2014 Big Ten Individual Honors

Swimmer of the Championships: Shane Ryan, Penn State
Diver of the Championships: Darian Schmidt, Indiana
Freshman of the Year: Jakub Maly, Minnesota
Swimming Coach of the Year: Mike Bottom, Michigan
Diving Coach of the Year: Drew Johansen, Indiana


2014 All-Big Ten Teams
First Team
Cody Miller, Indiana
Conor Murphy, Indiana
Eric Ress, Indiana
Darian Schmidt, Indiana
Dylan Bosch, Michigan
Peter Brumm, Michigan
Jason Chen, Michigan
Richard Funk, Michigan
Justin Glanda, Michigan
Connor Jaeger, Michigan
Anders Nielsen, Michigan
Bruno Ortiz, Michigan
Kyle Whitaker, Michigan
John Wojciechowski, Michigan
Michael Wynalda, Michigan
Derek Toomey, Minnesota
Michael DiSalle, Ohio State
Joshua Fleagle, Ohio State
Matt McHugh, Ohio State
Tim Phillips, Ohio State
Shane Austin, Penn State
John Hauser, Penn State
Shane Ryan, Penn State
Nate Savoy, Penn State 

Second Team
Kyler Van Swol, Minnesota
Jordan Wilimovsky, Northwestern
DJ MacDonald, Ohio State
Connor McDonald, Ohio State
James Wilson, Penn State
Jamie Bissett, Purdue
Nathan Cox, Purdue
Lyam Dias, Purdue
Cannon Clifton, Wisconsin
Nicholas Caldwell, Wisconsin
Tyler Hines, Wisconsin
Matthew Hutchins, Wisconsin
Andrew teDuits, Wisconsin

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Kyle Johnson, Indiana
Andrew Marciniak, Iowa
David Moore, Michigan
Drew Goins, Michigan State
Brandon Hatanaka, Minnesota
Brien Gerber, Northwestern
Mike Gallagher, Ohio State
Shane Austin, Penn State
Jacob McGough, Purdue
Tyler Hines, Wisconsin