Big Ten Announces Men's Swimming & Diving Individual Honors

March 2, 2012

The Big Ten Conference office announced on Friday its 2012 men’s swimming & diving individual award winners. Michigan’s Dan Madwed was named Big Ten Swimmer of the Championships, while Indiana’s Darian Schmidt, Minnesota’s Kristoffer Jorgensen and Ohio State’s Shane Miszkiel were tabbed Co-Divers of the Championships. Penn State’s Nate Savoy took home Freshman of the Year honors, Michigan head coach Mike Bottom was named Swimming Coach of the Year, and Indiana diving coach Jeff Huber earned Diving Coach of the Year accolades.

The Big Ten Conference office also recognizes student-athletes from each team with the Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.  Honorees for men’s swimming & diving are, Indiana’s Emad Abdelatif, Iowa’s Jordan Huff, Michigan’s Casey Sreenan, Michigan State’s Mark Gammell, Minnesota’s Andy Knaak, Northwestern's John Frutiger, Ohio State’s Lincoln Fahrbach, Penn State’s Scott Marino, Purdue’s Tyler Gertz and Wisconsin’s Jeff Morris. These student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

Swimmer of the Championships
Dan Madwed, Michigan

Co-Divers of the Championships
Darian Schmidt, Indiana
Kristoffer Jorgensen, Minnesota
Shane Miszkiel, Ohio State

Freshman of the Year
Nate Savoy, Penn State

Swimming Coach of the Year
Mike Bottom, Michigan

Diving Coach of the Year

Jeff Huber, Indiana