NCAA Men's Swimming & Diving Championships Begin Thursday

March 25, 2014

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center on the University of Texas campus in Austin, Texas, will play host to the NCAA Men’s Swimming & Diving Championships, which begins Thursday and concludes Saturday. Preliminary sessions begin at Noon ET each day, with nightly finals scheduled for 8 p.m.

This year’s championships will feature 46 Big Ten student-athletes from nine different schools. Big Ten institutions have won 29 team titles and 472 individual championships, with the Michigan men’s swimming & diving team capturing the national title last season.

Six Big Ten squads are ranked in the top 25 of the latest NCAA Top 25 poll. Michigan appears at No. 2, followed by No. 4 Ohio State and No. 7 Indiana. Minnesota checks in at No. 11, Purdue is ranked No. 23 and Penn State is No. 24.

Friday and Saturday’s finals will be streamed live by ESPN3. Additionally, ESPNU will air tape-delayed coverage at 8 p.m. ET on April 9. Live results for the championships will be available on 

The list of Big Ten qualifiers can be found below.

Emad Abdelatif
Cody Miller
Eric Ress
Darian Schmidt
Stephen Schmuhl
James Wells 

Dustin Rhoads 

Hassaan Abdel Khalik
Dylan Bosch
Peter Brumm
Richard Funk
Justin Glanda
Connor Jaeger
Ryutaro Kamiya
Anders Nielsen
Bruno Ortiz
Sean Ryan
Kyle Whitaker
John Wojciechowski
Michael Wynalda

Matt Barnard
Jakub Maly
Clayton Smith
Derek Toomey
Kyler Van Swol 

Jordan Wilimovsky 

Ohio State
Michael Disalle
Joshua Fleagle
Tamas Gercsak
Connor McDonald
Matt McHugh
Tim Phillips
Garrett Trebilcock
Steven Zimmerman 

Penn State
Nicholas Ankosko
Shane Ryan
Nathaniel Savoy



Jamie Bissett
Guillermo Blanco
Nathan Cox
Lyam Dias
Sean Mokhtari
Layne Rogers

Nicholas Caldwell
Nicholas Schafer
Andrew teDuits