Indiana's Nees and Michigan's Madwed Win Big Ten Men's Swimming and Diving Honors

Indiana's Zac Nees took home Diver of the Year laurels.

March 28, 2012

The conference office announced on Wednesday the 2012 Big Ten Men’s Swimmer and Diver of the Year award winners, as voted by the conference coaches. Michigan’s Dan Madwed captured Swimmer of the Year honors, while Indiana’s Zac Nees took home Diver of the Year accolades.

Madwed recorded three first-place finishes and added a second-place mark at the Big Ten Championships. The Wolverine senior placed first in the 100-yard butterfly (46.02), 200 butterfly (1:42.67) and 800 freestyle relay (6:16.26) and finished second in the 200 individual medley (1:44.47). The Stamford, Conn., native also earned five All-America honors for his performances at the NCAA Championships, highlighted by a fourth-place finish in the 200 butterfly (1:42.61). Madwed’s award is the 17th in Wolverine history and the fourth in the last five years.

Nees recorded two top-five finishes at the Big Ten Championships, placing third and fourth, respectively, in the three-meter (413.85) and platform (391.35) diving events. The Hoosier junior also recorded top-10 finishes at the NCAA Championships to earn All-America status. Nees placed sixth in the three-meter event (380.00) and finished eighth on the platform (413.25). The Hatfield, Pa., native gives the Hoosiers 10 Big Ten Diver of the Year honors and four in the last eight years, most recently when Landon Marzullo was honored in 2008.