Michigan Wins NCAA Men's Swimming & Diving Title

Michigan's Connor Jaeger won the 500- and 1,650-yard freestyle events.

March 30, 2013

Indianapolis, Ind. -

Michigan won its Big Ten leading 12th NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships title and first since 1995 on Saturday night at the IU Natatorium on the campus of Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) in Indianapolis, Ind. The Wolverines totaled 480 team points en route to the national title, while ninth-place Indiana finished in the top 10 with 201 points. 

Michigan had 27 top-10 finishes on the way to the crown, including individual titles from Connor Jaeger in the 500-yard freestyle (4:10.84) and 1,650 freestyle (14:27.18) and the Wolverines’ 200-yard medley relay team consisting of Miguel Ortiz, Bruno Ortiz, Sean Fletcher and Zach Turk (1:22.27). Wisconsin’s Andrew Teduits also won a national title, taking the 200 backstroke crown in 1:38.27.