Michigan's Jaeger and Indiana's Schmidt Win Big Ten Men's Swimming and Diving Honors

Indiana's Darian Schmidt was named Diver of the Year.

April 2, 2013

Park Ridge, Ill. -

The conference office announced the 2013 Big Ten Men’s Swimmer and Diver of the Year award winners today, as voted on by the conference coaches. Michigan’s Connor Jaeger captured Swimmer of the Year honors, while Indiana’s Darian Schmidt took home Diver of the Year accolades.

At the Big Ten Championships, Jaeger won the 1,650-yard freestyle for the second consecutive year (14:34.87), took home the 500-yard freestyle crown (4:13.44) and helped the Wolverines to a Big Ten record and first-place finish in the 800-yard freestyle relay (6:13.70) to guide Michigan to its third consecutive conference title. At the NCAA Championships, the junior earned All-America recognition for his performances, posting four top-eight finishes to lead the Wolverines to the NCAA crown. Jaeger claimed national titles in both the 500- and 1,650-yard freestyle events, recorded an eighth-place finish in the 200-yard freestyle and helped the Wolverines to a second-place effort in the 800-yard freestyle relay. Jaeger becomes the second consecutive Wolverine to win Swimmer of the Year honors, the fifth in the last six years and 18th overall.

After placing first in the 1-meter and second in the 3-meter diving events at the Big Ten Championships, Schmidt was named Co-Diver of the Championships for the second consecutive season. He posted scores of 432.15 in the 1-meter and 456.85 in the 3-meter to help the Hoosiers to a second-place finish at the meet. At the NCAA Championships, Schmidt collect All-America honors as he posted two top-six finishes. The junior took third in the 3-meter (425.50) and sixth in the 1-meter (387.90) to help Indiana to a ninth-place team finish. His award gives the Hoosiers 11 Big Ten Diver of the Year honors and their second consecutive.