2016 Men’s Swimming & Diving Season In Review

April 4, 2016

The Big Ten men’s swimming & diving season concluded at the NCAA Championships on March 26 at the McAuley Aquatic Center in Atlanta, Ga. Indiana led the Big Ten at No. 9, followed by No. 12 Michigan, No. 15 Ohio State, No. 18 Wisconsin and No. 20 Minnesota ranking among the top 20. The Wolverines also claimed the Big Ten Championship this season, marking the sixth consecutive title for Michigan and 40th overall.

NCAA Championships Central: The Big Ten was well-represented in the 2016 NCAA Men’s Swimming & Diving Championships. The Big Ten saw a first place finish in Ohio State’s Colin Zeng on platform, who also earned a bronze medal in the one-meter event. Wisconsin’s Matt Hutchins finished third in the 1,650-yard freestyle. For complete coverage of the NCAA Championships, click here.

NCAA Championships Qualifiers: This year’s championships featured 45 Big Ten competitors from nine different schools. Going into the NCAA Championships, Big Ten institutions had won 489 individual titles, including a conference-leading 167 crowns from Michigan. The list of Big Ten qualifiers can be found here.

Bringing Home the Hardware: The Big Ten announced the 2016 Big Ten Men’s Swimmer, Diver, Swimming Coach and Diving Coach of the Year, as voted on by conference coaches. Wisconsin’s Matt Hutchins was named Big Ten Swimmer of the Year, while Ohio State’s Colin Zeng was the unanimous pick for Big Ten Diver of the Year. Indiana’s Ray Looze collected Big Ten Swimming Coach of the Year honors, and Minnesota’s Wenbo chen and Buckeyes’ Justin Sochor shared Big Ten Diving Coach of the Year plaudits. For the complete postseason honors release, click here.

Wolverines Win Gold: Michigan claimed the 2016 Big Ten Men’s Swimming & Diving Championship at the Boilermaker Aquatic Center. The title marked the Wolverines’ sixth consecutive crown and 40th overall.

Michigan compiled 1,475.5 points throughout the four-day event. Indiana finished second after collecting 1,306 points and Ohio State was third with 1,294.5 points. Minnesota finished fourth with 919 points, while Wisconsin recorded 832.5 points to finish fifth.

The Wolverines took home Big Ten titles in the 200-yard backstroke, 200-yard butterfly, 50-yard freestyle, 500-yard freestyle, 1,650-yard freestyle, 200-yard individual medley, 400-yard individual medley, 800-yard freestyle relay and 200-yard medley relay.

For more information about the 2016 Big Ten Men’s Swimming & Diving Championships, including All-Big Ten and individual award honorees, click here and here.

Academic Excellence: On March 23, the conference recognized winter sports athletes who had been named to the Academic All-Conference team, which included 152 men’s swimmers and divers. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, students must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher. For more on the Academic All-Big Ten selections, click here.