Final Release

April 6, 2006

Final Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader


The Big Ten added three more individual national champions to its storied history at the 2006 NCAA Division I Men's Swimming and Diving Championships held March 23-25 at the Georgia Tech Aquatic Center in Atlanta, Ga. Michigan teammates Davis Tarwater and Peter Vanderkaay, and Northwestern's Matt Grevers each defended their NCAA titles from a year ago. Tarwater swam his way to his second-consecutive national crown in the 200-yard butterfly, clocking in at a pool record 1:41.84. Fellow Wolverine Vanderkaay successfully defended his 500-yard freestyle title, also in pool record fashion, as he touched the wall first in 4:08.6. NU's Grevers is now a two-time 100-yard backstroke champion as he finished in 45.90.

Tarwater helped the U-M 800-yard freestyle relay tally a new pool record and place second in 6:18.11. He also finished fourth in the 100-yard butterfly in 46.33, repeating his performance from a year ago.

Vanderkaay has now won four NCAA individual medals in his career as the senior also claimed titles in the 400- and 1,500-meter freestyle events in 2004. The Rochester, Mich., repeated as runner-up in the 200- and 1,650-yard freestyle events for the second straight year as he notched two more pool records and finished in 1:33.31 and 14:33.76, respectively, while contributing to the Wolverine 800-yard freestyle relay second-place finish.

Grevers is the only Wildcat to give Northwestern two consecutive NCAA swimming individual championships since Bill Heusner won the 1,500-meter freestyle in 1948 and 1949.

Michigan led all Big Ten squads with an eighth-place finish in the team standings followed by Northwestern (10th), Minnesota (11th), Indiana (12th), Purdue (16th), Ohio State (T21st) and Penn State (49th).

Also highlighting the three-day event were top-three finishes by Indiana's Kevin Swander, who posted a pool record and a runner-up time in the 100-yard Breaststroke in 52.54 and Purdue's Steve LoBue took home third in the platform diving event with 349.6 points. Overall, Big Ten student-athletes set 19 new pool records.