2010-11 Big Ten Men's Swimming and Diving Season in Review

April 15, 2011

Park Ridge, Ill. -
Complete Release in PDF Format

Three Big Ten programs earned top-15 finishes at the 2011 NCAA Championships at the University Aquatic Center hosted by the Minnesota Golden Gophers. Michigan led all Big Ten squads with 181 team points to finish in ninth place for the third consecutive season. The top-10 finish marked the 11th consecutive for the Wolverines at the national meet.

Ohio State picked up an 11th place finish, scoring 115 points, while Minnesota (91) and Purdue (88) placed 15th and 16th, respectively. Rounding out the conference contingent was Indiana (61) in 18th place, followed by Wisconsin (21), Penn State (14), Northwestern (7) and Iowa (4).

Purdue's David Boudia collected a pair of national titles in the diving well at the 2011 event.Boudia scored 472.30 points from the 3-meter springboard to win his third consecutive title in the event. The junior has swept the springboard events each of the last two seasons and is the 12th diver in NCAA history to win three straight titles on the same board.

The Noblesville, Ind., native also highlighted the opening day of the championships with a gold-medal finish in the 1-meter springboard for the second consecutive year. Boudia earned the national crown with a score of 461 points, finishing his junior season of collegiate competition having won 30 of the 31 events he entered during the 2010-11 school year. This season, he was named Big Ten Diver of the Week a conference-record nine times and won the weekly award 20 times during his career at Purdue. For his efforts, he earned Big Ten Diver of the Year for a third straight season.

A few weeks before the NCAA Championships, Michigan captured its 35th Big Ten Championship. The Wolverines totaled 678 points to earn the conference title to outdistance Indiana, which finished second with 604 points. Ohio State was third with 593 while Minnesota tallied 505.5 points for fourth place. Purdue collected 343.5 points to round out the top five in the final team standings.



Wolverine coach Mike Bottom earned Coach of the Year honors while Purdue's Adam Soldati picked up his third straight Diving Coach of the Year award. For their efforts, Minnesota's Michael Richards and Purdue's David Boudia earn Swimmer and Diver of the Championships, respectively. Michigan newcomer Kyle Whitaker earned the nod as Freshman of the Year. Indiana's Eric Ress captured Swimmer of the Year honors while Boudia was a unanimous pick for Diver of the Year after winning the past two seasons.