Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year Award Nominee -- David Boudia, Purdue

David Boudia is Purdue's nominee for the Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year Award.

June 14, 2011

Through Friday, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 22 student-athletes nominated for the conference’s Jesse Owens Male and Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced live on the Big Ten Network’s season-ending awards show on Monday at 6:30 p.m. CT.

A six-time NCAA Champion, Boudia has been named Purdue’s Male Athlete of the Year three times in his career. He was named the NCAA’s Diver of the Year after sweeping the springboard events at the 2011 NCAA Championships. Boudia was named the Big Ten’s Diver of the Year after winning all three events at the conference championships, becoming the first diver in conference history to sweep all three events in two different years, having also accomplished the feat in 2009. Click HERE for more information on David.


Ashley Benson, Indiana Volleyball

Derek Drouin, Indiana Track & Field

Kachine Alexander, Iowa Basketball

Vince India, Iowa Golf

Emily MacLeod, Michigan State Cross Country/Track

Greg Jones, Michigan State Football

Kelci Bryant, Minnesota Diving



Michael Richards, Minnesota Swimming

Numa Gulyanamitta, Purdue Golf