Big Ten Athlete of the Year Nominee Spotlight - Connor Jaeger (Michigan)

Jaeger departs Michigan as a three-time national champion.

June 23, 2014

Through today, the Big Ten will highlight the student-athletes nominated for the conference’s Athlete of the Year awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced on Monday, June 23, at 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT on BTN.

Connor Jaeger – Michigan – Swimming & Diving

Jaeger departs Michigan as a three-time national champion, nine-time Big Ten individual or relay champion and 10-time NCAA All-American. He helped lead the Wolverines to four Big Ten team titles and one national title during his time in Ann Arbor. One of three senior captains this past season, Jaeger repeated as national champion in the 1,650-yard freestyle. He was a three-time NCAA All-American this season, earning the honor in that race, as well as in the 500-yard freestyle and as part of the 800-yard freestyle relay. He also received an NCAA All-America Honorable Mention in the 200-yard freestyle. Click HERE for more information on Connor.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Natalie Cafone, Iowa field hockey

Tony Ramos, Iowa wrestling

Allyssa Ferrell, Michigan State golf

Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State football

Dani Bunch, Purdue track & field

Raheem Mostert, Purdue track & field/football

Emily Wong, Nebraska gymnastics



Miles Ukaoma, Nebraska track & field

Catherine Shields, Ohio State rowing

Logan Stieber, Ohio State wrestling

Alex Rigsby, Wisconsin hockey

Michael Lihrman, Wisconsin track & field

Lindsay Mable, Minnesota gymnastics

Ellis Mannon, Minnesota gymnastics

Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern lacrosse

Jason Tsirtsis, Northwestern wrestling

Jannelle Flaws, Illinois soccer

Jesse Delgado, Illinois wrestling

Deja McClendon, Penn State volleyball

David Taylor, Penn State wrestling

Joanna Sampson, Michigan gymnastics