Big Ten Men’s and Women’s Swimming and Diving Season Begins
Oct. 5, 2017

ROSEMONT, Ill., – The Big Ten men’s and women’s swimming and diving season has begun, with three men’s and four women’s squads opening the 2017-18 competition slate this weekend. This year marks the 37th season of Big Ten women’s swimming and the 108th season of men’s swimming in the conference.

The season opened with the Michigan men’s and women’s squads hosting Oakland on September 29. This week, Iowa and Michigan State men’s and women’s teams compete in Iowa City on Thursday and Friday. Also on Friday, the Rutgers’ women kick off competition at the Florida Gulf Coast Classic in Fort Meyers, Florida.

On Saturday, the Minnesota men’s and women’s teams open their season at Florida State in Tallahassee.

Last season, Indiana captured the 2016-17 Big Ten Men’s Swimming and Diving Championship, which marked its first since the 2005-06 season and 25th overall. Michigan and Ohio State followed, tying for second place.

On the women’s side, Michigan claimed its second consecutive and 16th overall Big Ten Championship last year. Indiana followed in second and Wisconsin came in third.

The remaining Big Ten programs will open their seasons later in October. The 2017-18 Big Ten Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships will take place Wednesday, Feb. 21 – Saturday, Feb. 24 at Minnesota, while the 2017-18 Big Ten Women’s Swimming and Diving Championships will take place Wednesday, Feb. 14 – Saturday, Feb. 17 at Ohio State.