Trio of Big Ten Schools Open Men's Tennis Season This Weekend

Jan. 7, 2010

Three Big Ten teams kick off the 2010 spring tennis season this weekend as Indiana, Michigan and Ohio State will be in action.

Beginning Friday, the Hoosiers will be part of the three-day UNLV Spring Invitational that will be held in Las Vegas, Nev. Indiana wrapped up its fall schedule at the Big Ten Singles Championships, which was won by freshman Josh MacTaggart. The Wolverines will participate in the Key Biscayne Individuals in Key Biscayne, Fla., scheduled for Friday through Sunday. Four-time Big Ten Champion and 2009 national runner-up Ohio State travels south to Plantation, Fla., for a USTA Futures event on Saturday.

In the coming weeks, the conference’s remaining tennis clubs will get their seasons underway. Beginning next weekend, Illinois, Michigan State, Northwestern and Purdue will debut, while Minnesota and Wisconsin open Jan. 23, Penn State begins Jan. 24, and Iowa commences its season Jan. 30. Big Ten action will begin March 6.

In the preseason ITA National Rankings released Tuesday, Ohio State led a contingent of nine conference schools in the top 60. The Buckeyes debut at No. 3 overall with Illinois opening the season at No. 15. Minnesota, Wisconsin and Michigan occupy spots 31, 32 and 33, respectively, while Northwestern and Indiana rank 47th and 48th, respectively. Penn State checks in at No. 54, and Iowa rounds out the ranked conference squads at No. 60.