Big Ten Men's Tennis Tournament Bracket Released

April 21, 2013

Park Ridge, Ill. -

Tournament Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

The Big Ten Conference announced the seedings and pairings for the 2013 Men’s Tennis Tournament on Sunday. With its win over Michigan on Sunday afternoon, Ohio State claimed the outright conference title, its eighth consecutive Big Ten Championship, and the No. 1 seed in the tournament. The top-seeded Buckeyes closed the regular season with an 11-0 record in Big Ten play and a 28-2 overall mark. Ohio State receives a bye into the quarterfinals.

Minnesota earns the second seed after finishing the regular season 9-2 in conference matches and 13-9 overall. The Gophers own the head-to-head tiebreaker over third-seeded Michigan (14-8, 9-2 Big Ten). Illinois follows as the No. 4 seed after earning an 8-3 mark in Big Ten play and 15-9 overall record. The top four seeds in the tournament receive first-round byes and begin play in Friday’s quarterfinals.

Northwestern (20-8, 6-5) earns the fifth seed, winning the three-way tiebreaker over Indiana and Michigan State. The Wildcats will take on No.12 Iowa (7-16, 0-11) in the first round, with the winner moving on to face the Illini. The sixth-seeded Hoosiers (16-13, 6-5) will take on No. 11 Penn State (8-16, 2-9), with the winner advancing to face the Wolverines in the quarterfinals. Michigan State (12-12, 6-5) claims the seventh-seed and will take on 10th-seeded Nebraska (10-14, 2-9), with the Gophers awaiting in the second round. The Huskers secured the No. 10 seed after winning the head-to-head tiebreaker over the Nittany Lions. The winner of No. 8 Wisconsin (12-11, 4-7) and No. 9 Purdue (16-11, 3-8) will face the top-seeded Buckeyes on Friday.

The tournament is scheduled to begin on Thursday, with first-round matches starting at 9 a.m. ET at Ohio State’s Varsity Tennis Courts. Friday’s quarterfinal matches also begin at 9 a.m., while Saturday will showcase the tournament semifinals starting at 9:30 a.m. Sunday’s championship match is scheduled for Noon.

BTN will air the championship match on Monday, May 6th, at 7 p.m. ET.