Big Ten Men's Tennis Tournament Bracket Released

April 23, 2017

Big Ten Men's Tennis Tournament Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

ROSEMONT, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference announced the seedings and bracket for the 2017 Big Ten Men’s Tennis Tournament on Sunday. Ohio State clinched the No. 1 seed and its 12th consecutive Big Ten Championship on Sunday after completing the regular season with an 11-0 conference record.

The Big Ten Tournament will be hosted by Purdue at the Schwartz Tennis Center from Thursday, April 27, through Sunday, April 30.

Michigan earned the No. 2 seed with a 9-2 Big Ten record, while Illinois claimed the third seed. Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin all tied for fourth at 7-4 in conference action. The Badgers are the No. 4 seed due to a higher amount of points won against the other tied teams this season, while the Wildcats and Boilermakers are the No. 5 and No. 6 seeds, respectively. The top four seeds in the Big Ten Tournament receive first-round byes and will begin play in Friday’s quarterfinals.

Four matches highlight Thursday’s first round. Seventh-seeded Penn State will take on No. 10 Iowa, while eighth-seeded Minnesota will face ninth-seeded Indiana. The Nittany Lions won the tiebreaker over the Gophers after defeating them 5-2 in the regular season. Purdue claimed the sixth seed and will face 11th-seeded Nebraska, while No. 5 Northwestern will face No. 12 Michigan State.

In Friday’s quarterfinals, Ohio State will take on the Minnesota-Indiana winner, while Michigan will face the winner of the Penn State-Iowa match. Illinois will take on the Purdue-Nebraska victor, and Wisconsin will face the Northwestern-Michigan State winner.

Thursday and Friday’s first round and quarterfinal matches will begin at 9 a.m. ET, while Saturday’s semifinals will start at 10:30 a.m., and Sunday’s championship match will begin at 11 a.m.

BTN will debut live coverage of the Big Ten Men’s Tennis Tournament beginning at 11 a.m. ET on Sunday, April 30.