2013 Big Ten Men's Tennis Tournament Release

April 24, 2013

Park Ridge, Ill. -

Big Ten Tournament ReleaseGet Acrobat Reader

The 2013 Big Ten Men’s Tennis Tournament is set to begin Thursday at Ohio State University’s Varsity Tennis Courts. The 12 conference teams head to Columbus, Ohio, in search of the tournament title and an automatic berth to the NCAA Championships.

Matches get underway on Thursday, with No. 8 Wisconsin taking on No. 9 Purdue at 9 a.m. ET, followed by No. 5 Northwestern going against No. 12 Iowa at 11 a.m. At 1:30 p.m., No. 7 Michigan State will face No. 10 Nebraska and No. 6 Indiana takes on No. 11 Penn State at 4 p.m.

Friday will feature the quarterfinal matches, with top-seeded Ohio State meeting the winner of Wisconsin-Purdue at 9 a.m., and No. 4 Illinois facing the winner of Northwestern-Iowa at 11 a.m. At 1:30 p.m., second-seeded Minnesota will take on the winner of Michigan State-Nebraska, and No. 3 Michigan will await the winner of the Indiana-Penn State match at 4 p.m.

Saturday’s semifinals will take place at 9:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m., with the championship match following on Sunday at Noon. BTN will broadcast the final on Monday, May 6 at 7 p.m.

Illinois won its first Big Ten Tournament last season, defeating Ohio State, 4-3. Prior to that, Ohio State had won the 2009, 2010 and 2011 tournaments. 

The complete release is above.