Big Ten Men's Tennis All-Conference Teams and Individual Awards Announced

April 24, 2014

The Big Ten men’s tennis All-Conference teams and individual awards were announced on Thursday night at the Big Ten Tournament banquet. Illinois’ Farris Gosea was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, Northwestern’s Sam Shropshire earned Freshman of the Year honors and Ohio State’s Ty Tucker picked up Coach of the Year laurels.

Gosea receives top billing among Big Ten players after compiling a perfect record in conference singles play at 10-0. The Illini junior is currently the 17th-ranked singles player in the country, helping Illinois to a No. 2 seed in the conference tournament. Gosea’s award marks the sixth time an Illinois player has claimed the honor and first since Kevin Anderson in 2007.

Shropshire finished his first collegiate season with a perfect 10-0 conference singles record at the No. 2 position, making him the first Wildcat to go undefeated in Big Ten play in more than 20 years. Shropshire becomes the fourth Northwestern freshman to win the award and the first since Tom Hanus in 2002.

Tucker collects his ninth consecutive Coach of the Year award and 10th overall after guiding the Buckeyes to a 27-3 overall record and their ninth straight Big Ten title. Tucker led Ohio State to a perfect 11-0 conference record, marking the ninth season in a row that his team went undefeated in Big Ten play. With Tucker’s guidance, the Buckeyes captured their first ITA National Team Indoor Championship title in February.

Gosea was one of four unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selections and was joined by Minnesota’s Leandro Toledo, Ohio State’s Peter Kobelt and Penn State’s Leonard Stakhovsky. Other first-team All-Big Ten members include Illinois’ Jared Hiltzik and Tim Kopinski, Michigan’s Alex Petrone, Michigan State’s Drew Lied, Nebraska’s Dusty Boyer, Northwestern’s Shropshire and Raleigh Smith and Ohio State’s Herkko Pollanen.



Earning consideration on the second team are Indiana’s Sam Monette, Iowa’s Jonas Dierckx, Michigan State’s John Patrick Mullane, Ohio State’s Hunter Callahan, Kevin Metka and Ralf Steinbach, Penn State’s Russell Bader and Purdue’s Mark Kovacs and Ricky Medinilla.

The Big Ten also recognized 12 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.


First-Team All-Big Ten
Jared Hiltzik, Illinois
Tim Kopinski, Illinois
Alex Petrone, Michigan
Drew Lied, Michigan State
Dusty Boyer, Nebraska
Sam Shropshire, Northwestern
Raleigh Smith, Northwestern
Herkko Pollanen, Ohio State

Second-Team All-Big Ten*
Sam Monette, Indiana
Jonas Dierckx, Iowa
John Patrick Mullane, Michigan State
Hunter Callahan, Ohio State
Kevin Metka, Ohio State
Ralf Steinbach, Ohio State
Russell Bader, Penn State
Mark Kovacs, Purdue
Ricky Medinilla, Purdue

Unanimous selections in CAPS
* Additional honorees due to a tie


Athlete of the Year: Farris Gosea, Illinois
Freshman of the Year:
Sam Shropshire, Northwestern
Coach of the Year:
Ty Tucker, Ohio State


Tim Kopinski, Illinois
Dimitrije Tasic, Indiana
Michael Swank, Iowa
Shaun Bernstein, Michigan
Aaron Pfister, Michigan State
Jack Hamburg, Minnesota
Marc Herrmann, Nebraska
Alex Pasareanu, Northwestern
Hunter Callahan, Ohio State
Matt Barry, Penn State
Aaron Dujovne, Purdue
John Zordani, Wisconsin