Big Ten Men's Tennis All-Conference Teams and Individual Awards Announced

April 25, 2013

Park Ridge, Ill. -

The Big Ten men’s tennis All-Conference teams and individual awards were announced on Thursday night at the Big Ten Tournament banquet. Michigan’s Evan King was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, while Illinois’ Jared Hiltzik earned Freshman of the Year honors and Ohio State’s Ty Tucker picked up Coach of the Year laurels.

King receives top billing among Big Ten players for the second consecutive season after compiling a perfect record in conference singles play for the second year in a row (10-0 in 2013, 11-0 in 2012). The Wolverine senior is currently the 11th-ranked singles player in the country, helping Michigan to a No. 3 seed in the conference tournament. King’s award marks the eighth time a Michigan player has claimed the honor and he is the fifth student-athlete to be tabbed Athlete of the Year twice in his career.
Hiltzik finished his first collegiate season with a 9-2 conference singles record and an 8-1 doubles mark. The newcomer was named Big Ten Athlete of the Week three times this season, tied with King for most weekly honors in 2013, and is currently ranked 31st in the country in singles. Hiltzik becomes the sixth Illinois freshman to win the award and the first since Dennis Nevolo in 2009.
Tucker collects his eighth consecutive Coach of the Year award and ninth overall after guiding the Buckeyes to a 28-2 overall record and their eighth straight Big Ten title. Tucker led Ohio State to a perfect 11-0 conference record, marking the eighth season in a row that his team went undefeated in Big Ten play. The Buckeyes have won 98 consecutive Big Ten matches dating back to 2005.
King and Hiltzik are two of five unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selections and are joined by Minnesota’s Rok Bonin, Ohio State’s Peter Kobelt and Blaz Rola. Other first-team All-Big Ten members include Indiana’s Josh MacTaggart and Sam Monette, Michigan State’s Aaron Pfister, Minnesota’s Leandro Toledo, Northwestern’s Raleigh Smith and Spencer Wolf and Ohio State’s Devin McCarthy and Connor Smith.
Earning consideration on the second team are Illinois’ Tim Kopinski, Michigan’s Barrett Franks, Michigan State’s Drew Lied, Ohio State’s Chris Diaz and Purdue’s Szymon Tatarczyk.
The Big Ten also recognized 12 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.
First-Team All-Big Ten*
Josh MacTaggart, Indiana
Sam Monette, Indiana
EVAN KING, Michigan
Aaron Pfister, Michigan State
ROK BONIN, Minnesota
Leandro Toledo, Minnesota
Raleigh Smith, Northwestern
Spencer Wolf, Northwestern
Devin McCarthy, Ohio State
BLAZ ROLA, Ohio State
Connor Smith, Ohio State
Second-Team All-Big Ten
Tim Kopinski, Illinois
Barrett Franks, Michigan
Drew Lied, Michigan State
Chris Diaz, Ohio State
Szymon Tatarczyk, Purdue
Unanimous selections in CAPS
* Additional honorees due to a tie
Athlete of the Year: Evan King, Michigan
Freshman of the Year: Jared Hiltzik, Illinois
Coach of the Year: Ty Tucker, Ohio State
Bruno Abdelnoor, Illinois
Chris Essick, Indiana
Jonas Dierckx, Iowa
Alex Petrone, Michigan
Denis Bogatov, Michigan State
Jack Hamburg, Minnesota
Marc Herrmann, Nebraska
Chris Jackman, Northwestern
Blaz Rola, Ohio State
CJ Griffin, Penn State
Krisztian Krocsko, Purdue
Petr Satral, Wisconsin