2011 Big Ten Men's Tennis Tournament Preview

April 27, 2011

Complete Release in PDF Format | Tournament Central | Bracket

The 2011 Big Ten Men's Tennis Tournament is set for this weekend at the University of Wisconsin's Nielsen Tennis Stadium. The 11 conference teams head to Madison, Wis., in search of the tournament title and an automatic berth to the NCAA Championships.

Matches get underway on Thursday, with No. 8 Michigan State taking on No. 9 Northwestern in the first match of the day at 9 a.m. CT. Host and No. 6 Wisconsin will face No. 11 Penn State at 11:30 a.m., while No. 7 Purdue will play No. 10 Iowa at 2:30 p.m.

Friday will feature the quarterfinal matches, with top-seeded Ohio State meeting the winner of Michigan State-Northwestern and No. 4 Illinois facing No. 5 Michigan at 10 a.m. Third-seeded Minnesota will take on the winner of Wisconsin-Penn State and No. 2 Indiana will await the winner of the Purdue-Iowa match. Both contests will take place at 2 p.m.

Saturday's semifinals will take place at 10 a.m. and 2 p.m., with the championship match following on Sunday at Noon. The Big Ten Network will broadcast the final on May 7 at 5 p.m.

The top-seeded Buckeyes are seeking their sixth-straight tournament title after clinching their sixth consecutive Big Ten Championship last weekend. Michigan has won the most tournament crowns in the history of the event, capturing 36.