Big Ten Men's Tennis All-Conference Teams and Individual Awards Announced

Ohio State's JJ Wolf was named the Big Ten Freshman of the Year.

April 27, 2017

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten men’s tennis all-conference teams and individual awards were announced this morning prior to the start of the Big Ten Tournament. Illinois’ Aleks Vukic was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, while Ohio State’s JJ Wolf earned Freshman of the Year honors and the Buckeyes’ Ty Tucker picked up Coach of the Year laurels.

Vukic receives top billing among Big Ten students after compiling a 10-0 record in conference singles play at the No. 1 position. The Illini junior is currently the fifth-ranked singles player in the country, helping Illinois to the No. 3 seed in the conference tournament. Vukic’s award marks the seventh time an Illinois player has claimed the honor and first since Farris Gosea in 2014.

Wolf finished his first collegiate season with nine wins over conference opponents, guiding Ohio State to its 12th consecutive Big Ten Championship. Wolf becomes the seventh Buckeye to earn Freshman of the Year honors and third in as many years, following Hugo Di Feo in 2016.

Tucker collects his 12th Big Ten Coach of the Year award after leading the Buckeyes to an 11-0 conference record and their 12th consecutive Big Ten Championship. This is the 11th time in the last 12 seasons Tucker has been honored by his peers. The Buckeyes are currently No. 2 in the latest ITA Rankings. Vukic was one of six unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selections and were joined by fellow Illini Aron Hiltzik, Michigan’s Jathan Malik, Northwestern’s Strong Kirchheimer and Ohio State’s Hugo Di Feo and Mikael Torpegaard. Other first-team All-Big Ten members include Michigan’s Alex Knight, Minnesota’s Matic Spec, Northwestern’s Konrad Zieba, Ohio State’s JJ Wolf, Purdue’s Gergely Madarasz and Wisconsin’s Lamar Remy.

Earning consideration on the second team were Iowa’s Josh Silverstein, Minnesota’s Felix Corwin, Northwestern’s Sam Shropshire and Dominik Stary, Penn State’s Constant De La Bassetiere and Wisconsin’s Josef Dodridge.



The Big Ten also recognized 12 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These students must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.


Individual Awards
Athlete of the Year: Aleks Vukic, Illinois
Freshman of the Year: JJ Wolf, Ohio State
Coach of the Year: Ty Tucker, Ohio State

First-Team All-Big Ten
Alex Knight, Michigan
Matic Spec, Minnesota
Konrad Zieba, Northwestern
HUGO DI FEO, Ohio State
JJ Wolf, Ohio State
Gergely Madarasz, Purdue
Lamar Remy, Wisconsin

Second-Team All-Big Ten
Josh Silverstein, Iowa
Felix Corwin, Minnesota
Sam Shropshire, Northwestern
Dominik Stary, Northwestern
Constant De La Bassetiere, Penn State
Josef Dodridge, Wisconsin

Unanimous selections in CAPS

Sportsmanship Award Winners
Alex Jesse, Illinois
Stefan Lugonjic, Indiana
Robin Haden, Iowa
Carter Lin, Michigan
Michael Dube, Michigan State
Josip Krstanovic, Minnesota
Micah Klousia, Nebraska
Jason Seidman, Northwestern
Hunter Tubert, Ohio State
Marc Collado, Penn State
Matt Bouggy, Purdue
Chema Carranza, Wisconsin