Conference Office Announces 2010 All-Big Ten Team and Individual Award Winners

April 29, 2010

The Big Ten Conference office announced Thursday the All-Big Ten Team and individual award winners from the 2010 season. Ohio State’s Chase Buchanan was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, the third straight season a Buckeye has won the honor, as Bryan Koniecko won the honor in 2008 and 2009. Freshman of the Year honors went to Michigan’s Evan King, becoming the first Wolverine to earn the honor since Dan Brakus did so in 1991. Ohio State’s Ty Tucker was named Big Ten Coach of the Year for the fifth consecutive year.

Ranked No. 9 in the latest ITA National Singles poll, Buchanan completed an undefeated conference season in winning Big Ten Athlete of the Year honors. Finishing 10-0 against Big Ten competition, Buchanan played at No. 1 singles all season, where he was 26-4 overall. The sophomore was 24-9 in doubles, 9-1 during conference play, and helped lead the Buckeyes to their fifth-straight Big Ten Championship and the No. 1 seed in the Big Ten Tournament.

Finishing 19-13 overall, and 7-3 in conference singles action, King played at Nos. 1 and 2 singles and doubles all season in winning Big Ten Freshman of the Year honors. His record was 5-0 at No. 1 singles during Big Ten play and also finished with an 8-2 record in doubles, helping the Wolverines to an 8-2 record in the Big Ten and the No. 3 seed in the Big Ten Tournament.

Tucker wins his fifth-straight yearly coaching award after guiding Ohio State to a 29-1 record heading into this week’s Big Ten Tournament. With a 10-0 Big Ten mark, Ohio State has gone undefeated during conference play in each of the last five seasons and ups its conference-winning streak to 59 matches. Appearing at No. 4 in the latest ITA National Team Rankings, the Buckeyes are the top-seed in this week’s Big Ten Tournament, an event they have won four years running.

Both Buchanan and King were named to the All-Big Ten team, as were 10 other conference standouts, including Illinois’ Marek Czerwinski and Dennis Nevolo, Indiana’s Lachlan Ferguson, Michigan’s Jason Jung, Minnesota’s Sebastian Gallego, Ohio State’s Justin Kronauge and Dino Marcan, Penn State’s Eddie Bourchier and Wisconsin’s Moritz Baumann and Marek Michalicka. Czerwinski, Nevolo, Jung, Buchanan, Kronauge, Baumann and Michalicka were all unanimous choices.



The conference office also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The 11 student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. These student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

A complete list of the 2010 All-Big Ten Team and individual honorees can be found below.

All-Big Ten Team:
Marek Czerwinski, ILL*
Dennis Nevolo, ILL*
Lachlan Ferguson, IND
Jason Jung, MICH*
Evan King, MICH
Sebastian Gallego, MINN
Chase Buchanan, OSU*
Justin Kronauge, OSU*
Dino Marcan, OSU
Eddie Bourchier, PSU
Moritz Baumann, WIS*
Marek Michalicka, WIS*

Athlete of the Year:
Chase Buchanan, OSU

Freshman of the Year:
Evan King, MICH

Coach of the Year:
Ty Tucker, OSU

Sportsmanship Honorees:
Marek Czerwinski, ILL
Isade Juneau, IND
Will Vasos, IOWA
Jason Jung, MICH
Ron Hulewicz, MSU
Tobias Wernet, MINN
Alex Sanborn, NU
Mike O’Connell, OSU
Ryan Gormley, PSU
P.J. Rose, PUR
Michael Dierberger, WIS

* - unanimous selection