Six Big Ten Teams Earn Berths to NCAA Men's Tennis Championship

April 29, 2014


Six Big Ten men's tennis teams have been selected to the NCAA Championship, the selection committee announced on Tuesday. Illinois, Michigan, Northwestern, Ohio State, Penn State and Purdue each earned berths to the national tournament, which gets underway May 9 at campus sites. The Buckeyes received an automatic bid to the championship after winning the Big Ten Tournament while the other five teams earned at-large selections.

Illinois makes its 19th consecutive appearance in the NCAA Championship, having made the field every year since 1996. The No. 12 seed Fighting Illini will host Ball State in the first round with the winner moving on to play either Memphis or Drake.

Michigan was selected to its 23rd NCAA Championship and 10th in a row. The Wolverines take on Oklahoma State in Los Angeles. Top-seeded Southern California or Idaho await the winner of that match in the second round.

Northwestern heads to the postseason for the third consecutive year and 13th overall. The Wildcats travel to South Bend, Ind., to take on Ole Miss. The winner will meet either No. 13 seed Notre Dame or Green Bay in the second round.

Third-seeded Ohio State makes its 15th consecutive appearance in the championship and plays Bryant at home in the opening round. The winner will square off against the winner of Wake Forest and Louisville in the second round.

Penn State earns its sixth berth to the national tournament and first since 2008. The Nittany Lions are matched up against UNC Wilmington in the first round and will travel to Charlottesville, Va., for the opening match. The winner will take on either No. 4 seed Virginia or Army.

Purdue receives a berth to the tournament for the sixth time in program history and first since 2002. The Boilermakers head to Lexington, Ky., to face Clemson in the first round. The winner will take on either No. 15 seed Kentucky or Denver in the second round.



First- and second-round play takes place May 9-11 at campus sites. Subsequent rounds will be played May 16-20 at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga.