Six Big Ten Teams Earn Berths to NCAA Men's Tennis Championships

April 30, 2013

Park Ridge, Ill. -

Six Big Ten men's tennis teams have been selected to the NCAA Championships, the selection committee announced on Tuesday. Illinois, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Northwestern and Ohio State have each earned berths to the national tournament, which gets underway on May 10th at campus sites. The Buckeyes received an automatic bid to the championships after winning the Big Ten Tournament while the other five teams earned at-large bids.

Illinois makes its 18th consecutive appearance in the NCAA Championships having made the field every year since 1996. The Fighting Illini will face Georgia State in the first round in Nashville, Tenn. The winner will move on to play either Eastern Tennessee State or No. 16 seed Vanderbilt.

Michigan was selected to its 22nd NCAA Championships and eighth in a row. The Wolverines will take on Virginia Tech in Lexington, Ky. Host and No. 8 seed Kentucky or Western Michigan await the winner of the Wolverines and Hokies in Round 2.

Michigan State earns its first berth to the national tournament. The Spartans are matched up against Tulsa in the first round and will travel to Waco, Texas, for the opening match. The winner will take on either 13th-seeded Baylor or Prairie View A&M.

Minnesota receives a berth to the tournament for the 19th time in program history and fifth consecutive season. The Gophers will head to Charlottesville, Va., to face VCU in the first round. The winner will take on either host and No. 2 seed Virginia or the Fairleigh-Dickinson in the second round.

Northwestern heads to the postseason for the second consecutive year and 12th overall The Wildcats travel to Athens, Ga., to take on Wake Forest. The winner will take on either No. 3 seed Georgia or Bingamton in the second round.

Fifth-seeded Ohio State makes its 13th straight appearance in the championships and will play Cleveland State at home in the opening round. The winner will square off against the winner of Notre Dame and Washington in the second round.

First- and second-round play takes place May 10-12 at campus sites. Subsequent rounds will be played at the Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex in Urbana, Ill., from May 16-27. The championships will be hosted by the University of Illinois.