NCAA Men's Tennis Singles and Doubles Draws Announced

May 2, 2013

Park Ridge, Ill. -

Five Big Ten singles players and three conference doubles pairs have been selected to the NCAA Championships, the selection committee announced on Wednesday. Fourteen automatic qualifiers and 50 at-large selections make up the singles field, while 14 automatic berths and 18 at-large selections comprise the doubles field.

Ohio State’s Peter Kobelt leads the pack of Big Ten singles players, entering the tournament as the No. 8 seed after earning the conference’s automatic berth. Illinois’ Jared Hiltzik, Michigan’s Evan King, Minnesota’s Rok Bonin and Ohio State’s Blaz Rola also received at-large bids to the singles field.

The Buckeyes’ Kobelt and Connor Smith earned the Big Ten’s automatic berth in the doubles draw. Illinois’ Tim Kopinski and Ross Guignon and Indiana’s Sam Monette and Isade Juneau will also be among the field of 32.

The singles and doubles competition will be conducted May 22-27 at the Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex in Urbana, Ill., following the conclusion of the team championship that runs May 17-21.