Seven Teams Garner NCAA Berths

May 2, 2017


Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, Northwestern, Ohio State, Purdue and Wisconsin will represent the Big Ten at the NCAA Men's Tennis Championship. The Buckeyes received an automatic bid to the championship after winning the Big Ten Tournament.

Illinois makes its 22nd-consecutive appearance in the NCAA Championship. The Fighting Illini will travel to Stillwater, Okla., to face Drake in opening round action. The winner will advance to take on Oklahoma State or UMKC in the second round.

Michigan earns its 25th berth in the NCAA Championship and 12th in the past 13 seasons. The Wolverines will travel to Stanford, Calif., to face Valparaiso in the opening round. The winner of that match will meet either Idaho or Stanford in the second round.

Minnesota makes its 21st NCAA Championship appearance, traveling to Gainesville, Fla., for a first-round contest against Georgia Tech. The advancing team will face Florida or FGCU in the second round.

Northwestern makes its sixth-straight appearance in the NCAA Championship, and 16th appearance overall. The Wildcats will meet Utah State in the first round, with the winner facing either Tennessee Tech or California in the second round.

Ohio State receives its 18th-consecutive berth in the NCAA Championship. The third-seeded Buckeyes are set to host Butler in the opening round. The winner will play UCF or Louisville in the second round.

Purdue makes its seventh appearance in the NCAA Championship and first since 2014. The Boilermakers will meet Columbia in the opening round, with winner taking on either Virginia or Monmouth in the second round.

Wisconsin makes its seventh NCAA Championship appearance and first since 2010. The Badgers travel to Los Angeles, Calif., to face off against San Diego in the first round. The advancing team will play either Denver or USC in the second round.

First- and second-round competition takes place May 12-13 at campus sites. Subsequent rounds will be played at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga., from May 18-23.