Five Big Ten Teams Earn Berths to NCAA Men's Tennis Championships

Five Big Ten teams have been selected to the NCAA Men's Tennis Championships.

May 3, 2011

NCAA Men's Tennis Championships Bracket

Five Big Ten men's tennis teams have been selected to the NCAA Championships, the selection committee announced today. Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota and Ohio State have each earned berths to the national tournament, which gets underway on May 13 at campus sites. The Buckeyes received an automatic bid to the championships after winning their sixth consecutive Big Ten Tournament while the other four teams earned at-large bids.

Illinois makes its 16th consecutive appearance in the NCAA Championships having made the field every year since 1996. The Fighting Illini will host Drake in the first round with the winner moving on to play either North Carolina or Eastern Kentucky.

Indiana earns its sixth berth to the national tournament and first since 2008. The Hoosiers are matched up against LSU in the first round and will travel to College Station, Texas, for the opening match. The winner will take on either host and ninth-seeded Texas A&M or Alcorn State.

Michigan was selected to its 20th NCAA Championships and sixth in a row and will take on Maryland in Durham, N.C. Host and No. 11 seed Duke or George Washington await the winner of the Wolverines and Terrapins in Round 2.

Minnesota receives a berth to the tournament for the 17th time in program history and third consecutive season. The Gophers will head to Berkeley, Calif., to face Fresno State in the first round. The winner will take on either host and No. 14 California or Marist in the second round.

Fourth-seeded Ohio State makes its 11th straight appearance in the championships and will play Ball State at home in the opening round. The winner will square off against the winner of Notre Dame and East Tennessee State in the second round.

The first round of the NCAA Championships is scheduled for May 13 and 14 with second-round action following on May 14 and 15 on campus sites. The remainder of the tournament will be played in Stanford, Calif., with third-round matches taking place on May 20 followed by quarterfinals on May 22. The semifinals will be played on May 23, and the national championship match will take place on May 24.