Five Big Ten Tennis Teams Earn Bids to NCAA Championships

Marek Czerwinski and the Illini are the No. 13 seed in the NCAA Championships and will host opening round matches.

May 4, 2010

The NCAA Division I Men's Tennis Subcommittee announced Tuesday afternoon that five Big Ten tennis teams made the 2010 NCAA Division I Men's Tennis Championships field of 64. Ohio State, ranked fourth overall, and Illinois, ranked No. 13, are seeded in the top 16 and will host first- and second-round matchups, which begin May 14. Michigan, Minnesota and Wisconsin were the other conference teams to earn berths into the draw.

Sixteen campus sites around the country will host first and second rounds, with the winners advancing to the round of 16. The final rounds of the NCAA Championships will be held at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex and will be hosted by the University of Georgia in Athens, Ga., from May 21-25.

NCAA Release

NCAA Championships Bracket