Big Ten Well Represented in Singles and Doubles Draws at NCAA Championships

Illinois' Dennis Nevolo is one of six conference signles players to advance to the NCAA Championships.

May 6, 2010

Six Big Ten men’s tennis singles standouts were selected among the 64-player field, and four conference doubles teams earned berths in the 32-team draw that will compete at the 2010 NCAA Division I Championships, the NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Subcommittee announced on Thursday.

Ohio State’s Chase Buchanan was the Big Ten’s automatic qualifier into the draw and is the No. 7 seed in the bracket. He will be joined in the singles tournament by teammate Justin Kronauge, Illinois’s Dennis Nevolo, Michigan’s Jason Jung and Wisconsin’s Moritz Baumann and Marek Michalicka. Minnesota’s Sebastian Gallego is listed as an alternate.

In doubles, the Ohio State pair of Buchanan and Dino Marcan was the Big Ten’s automatic qualifier into the draw and is a top-eight seed in the field. Along with the Buckeye duo, Illinois’ Marek Czewinski and Nevolo, Michigan’s Jung and Evan King and Wisconsin’s Baumann and Michalikca earned at-large spots in the field of 32. Indiana’s Lachlan Ferguson and Josh MacTaggart are listed as one of nine alternate teams.

The singles and doubles championships will be contested May 26-31 at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex on the University of Georgia campus in Athens, Ga. The tournaments will follow the team competition, scheduled for May 21-25.

Complete NCAA Release