Big Ten Begins Play at NCAA Championships

Moritz Baumann and the Wisconsin Badgers will face Notre Dame in the first round of the Illinois Regional on Friday.

May 13, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Five Big Ten men’s tennis teams begin competition at the 2010 NCAA Men’s Tennis Championships, two of which will be serving as hosts during the first and second rounds beginning this weekend. Sixteen teams will advance out of the regionals to the championships site at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex at the University of Georgia.

Ohio State and Illinois are seeded among the top 16 teams and will serve as regional hosts this weekend. Seeded fourth overall, Ohio State is looking to once again make a run at a national title after falling in the championship match last season. The Buckeyes are making their 11th NCAA Championships appearance and will host Western Michigan at 1 p.m. ET on Saturday.

The Illini, seeded 13th in the 64-team field, will make their 15th NCAA Championships appearance in program history. After finishing as the runner-up in the Big Ten Tournament, Illinois will host first and second-round matches, beginning with Friday’s dual against Xavier at 3 p.m.

Wisconsin is the second conference team in the Illinois Regional and will open with Notre Dame at Noon CT. With a first-round win, the Badgers, who are making their fourth-straight NCAA Championships appearance, would face the Illinois/Xavier winner at 1 p.m. on Saturday.

Michigan joins the Buckeyes in the Ohio State Regional and will open play against Denver at 10 a.m. ET on Saturday. Earning their Big Ten-best 19th berth to the NCAA Championships, the Wolverines would face the Ohio State/Western Michigan winner at Noon on Sunday with a win on Saturday.

Minnesota, having been selected to the championships 16 times, is the fifth conference squad in the field. The Gophers travel to the Texas Regional and will open against Arizona at 10 a.m. CT on Friday. A win would send them to a second-round dual with the Texas/Texas-San Antonio winner at 1 p.m. on Saturday.