Illinois' Anderson and DeHeart Advance at NCAA Men's Tennis Singles Championship

May 25, 2005

COLLEGE STATION, Texas - Two of the Big Ten's top men's tennis standouts have advanced to the round of 32 at the 2005 NCAA Men's Tennis Championships.  Big Ten Player of the Year Ryler DeHeart and Conference Freshman of the Year Kevin Anderson, both from Illinois, won their first-round matches Wednesday and will advance to second-round action on Thursday.

DeHeart, the seventh overall seed, needed all three sets to get past Tennessee's Mark Dietrich, 6-3, 2-6, 6-2, while Anderson captured a straight-set win over Oklahoma's Marek Velicka, 6-1, 6-2.  Illinois' third student-athlete to qualify for singles competition, GD Jones, fell in the first round to Boise State's Luke Shields, 6-4, 7-5.  MORE>>>

Around the League, Indiana senior Jakub Praibis lost a heartbreaking 7-6 (6), 6-4 decision to Stephane Rod of Virginia Tech, and closes out his IU career with 68 singles victories.  MORE>>>

Minnesota senior Avery Ticer, ranked 31st in the nation and unseeded in the tournament, lost 2-6, 6-4, 6-2 to No. 16 Franticek Babej of South Alabama.  Ticer, Minnesota's first-ever three-year captain, was making his first career appearance in the NCAA singles tournament.  MORE>>>

Also in action, Ohio State's Devin Mullings fell to Texas A&M's Jerry Makowski, 6-3, 7-5 (MORE>>>), while Penn State's Mark Barry was upended by top-seed Benedikt Dorsch of Baylor, 6-3, 6-1.  MORE>>>

The Big Ten also boasts a pair of doubles teams in action this week, as Ohio State's Scott Green and Ross Wilson enter the tournament as the fourth overall seed.  The Buckeye tandem will battle Middle Tennessee's Marco Born and Andreas Siljestrom on Thursday.  Also that day, Illinois' combo of DeHeart and Jones will take on UCLA's Alberton Francis and Krzysztof Kwinta in first-round doubles action.  First-serve time is yet to be determined for both doubles matches, however neither one of them will begin before 1 p.m.

For live results of the NCAA Men's Tennis Championships, please click here.