Four Big Ten Standouts Advance to Second Round of NCAA Singles Championships

Wisconsin's Marek Michalicka was one of four Big Ten singles players to advance to Thursday's second round.

May 26, 2010

Four Big Ten men’s tennis standouts advanced to the second round of the NCAA Singles Championships with wins during round one on Wednesday afternoon at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex on the University of Georgia campus.

During the opening matches of the day, Illinois’ Dennis Nevolo moved on to the second round by defeating North Carolina’s Jose Hernandez. The two traded wins during the first two sets before Nevolo won the decisive third set, 6-4, to move into Thursday’s second round, where he will face Kentucky’s Eric Quigley.

Entering the singles draw as the No. 7 seed, Ohio State’s Chase Buchanan played like a top performer when he defeated Florida State’s Jean Aubone in straight sets. Buchanan advanced to the second round with a 6-4, 6-2 win and will square off against Vanderbilt’s Ryan Lipman in the second round.

Buckeye teammate Justin Kronauge also advanced to the second round after a first-round win on Wednesday. The Ohio State all-time leader in singles wins with 147, Kronauge came back from behind to defeat Florida State’s Vahid Mirzadeh 0-6, 6-1, 7-5.

Also securing a win was Wisconsin’s Marek Michalicka, who moved on to Thursday’s second round after he defeated Texas Tech’s Raony Carvalho in straight sets. With a 6-2, 6-3 win over Carvalho, Michalicka advances to face Denes Kovacs of Baylor in the next round.

Two student-athletes saw their bids at a national championship come to an end on Wednesday. Michigan’s Jason Jung dropped a 2-6, 3-6 match to 11th-ranked Michael Shabaz of Virginia, while Wisconsin’s Moritz Baumann fell to fourth-seeded Guillermo Gomez of Georgia Tech, 5-7, 6-4, 4-6.

The second round of the 2010 NCAA Singles Championships gets underway at 10 a.m. ET on Thursday. Additionally, the opening round of the NCAA Doubles Championships will begin at approximately 2:30 p.m. on Thursday.

Wednesday’s First Round Results
No. 30 Marek Michalicka (WIS) def. No. 17 Raony Carvalho (Texas Tech), 6-2, 6-3
No. 47 Dennis Nevolo (ILL) def. No. 44 Jose Hernandez (North Carolina), 7-6, 0-6, 6-4
No. 11 Michael Shabaz (Virginia) def. No. 38 Jason Jung (MICH), 6-3, 6-2
No. 7 Chase Buchanan (OSU) def. No. 58 Jean Aubone (Florida State), 6-4, 6-2
No. 4 Guillermo Gomez (Georgia Tech) def. No. 61 Moritz Baumann (WIS), 7-5, 4-6, 6-4
No. 23 Justin Kronauge (OSU) def. No. 54 Vahid Mirzadeh (Florida State), 0-6, 6-1, 7-5