2017-18 Men's Tennis Season In Review
June 7, 2018

Take a look back at the 2017-18 men's tennis season in the Big Ten. 

Buckeyes Capture 13th Consecutive Conference Title
Ohio State clinched the outright Big Ten Men's Tennis Championship on April 22 after earning a 4-0 victory at Purdue. The conference title marks the 13th consecutive and 17th overall in program history. Click here for more info.

Ohio State Wins Third Big Ten Tournament In Row
Ohio State men’s tennis captured its third consecutive Big Ten Tournament Championship on April 29 with a 4-0 victory over Illinois at the Hawkeye Recreation and Tennis Complex. The top-seeded Buckeyes have now won eight tournament championships. In singles, Big Ten Athlete of the Year No. 5 Mikael Torpegaard won his match 6-3, 6-1 against No. 16 Aleks Vukic. Big Ten Freshman of the Year No. 101 John McNally defeated No. 83 Alex Brown 6-2, 6-3. No. 40 JJ Wolf beat Illinois’ Aron Hiltzik 6-2, 6-3 giving Ohio State the 4-0 victory. With the win, Ohio State earned the conference's automatic berth to the NCAA Championships. More info.

And The Awards Go To
The Big Ten men's tennis all-conference teams and individual awards were announced on April 26 corresponding with the start of the Big Ten Tournament. Conference champion Ohio State swept the individual awards with Mikael Torpegaard being named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, John McNally earning Freshman of the Year honors and Ty Tucker picking up Coach of the Year laurels. Read more here.

Four Teams Earn NCAA Berths
Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, and Ohio State, represented the Big Ten at the 2018 NCAA Men's Tennis Championship. The Buckeyes received an automatic bid to the championship after winning the Big Ten Tournament. More in the invitations here.

Buckeyes Finish As National Runner-Up
Ohio State advanced to the NCAA Championship match before falling to No. 1 seed and host Wake Forest in the final. The Buckeyes advanced to the championship match following a nearly seven-hour match that featured two lightning delays. Ohio State dug deep and avenged one of its two losses on the season, defeating No. 2 UCLA, 4-1. More here.

Eight Compete In NCAA Singles & Doubles
Eight Big Ten students competed in the championships including #6 seed Mikael Torpegaard of Ohio State, and Alex Knight of Michigan, who was seeded 9-16 in singles. In doubles, Torpegaard and Marton Joyce advanced to the NCAA Doubles Championship match before falling to champions Martin Redlicki and Evan Zhu of UCLA, 6-7(8), 7-6(4), 1-0(9). Details can be found here.

Knight Named National Most Improved Senior
The Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced the 2018 ITA Regional Honors, with six Big Ten men's tennis students and two coaches garnering recognition. Michigan's Alex Knight was named the National ITA Most Improved Senior in addition to also earning the award for the Midwest region. More on the honors here.

Four Earn All-American Honors
Illinois' Aleks Vukic, Michigan's Alex Knight, and Ohio State's Mikael Torpegaard were all named Division I Men's Singles All-Americans. For Torpegaard and Vukic, it marks the third consecutive year both were named singles All-Americans. Ohio State's doubles pair of Torpegaard and Martin Joyce earned All-America honors after finishing the season as the national runner-up advancing to the NCAA Championship match. It is Torpegaard's second doubles All-American accolade as he teammed with Herkko Pollanen to earn the honor in 2017. More here.

In The Final Polls
Three Big Ten schools, three singles players and two doubles pairs were ranked among the top 25 in the final ITA rankings. Ohio State finished ranked second, Illinois was eighth, Michigan came in 14th. Also ranked in the Top 75 were Minnesota (27th), Indiana (47th), Penn State (52nd), Wisconsin (56th) and Iowa (57th). Ohio State’s Mikael Torpegaard led the conference in singles with a No. 5 ranking, while Illinois’ Aleks Vukic and Michigan's Alex Knight earned ninth and 19th, respectively. Additional Big Ten singles players in the Top 125 included: Michigan's Runhao Hua (32nd), Ohio State's JJ Wolf (37th), Minnesota's Felix Corwin (38th), Minnesota's Matic Spec (70th), Minnesota's Stefan Milicevic (82nd), Illinois' Alex Brown (88th), Purdue's Gergely Madarasz (90th), Ohio State's John McNally (91st), Ohio State's Kyle Seelig (99th), Indiana's Antonio Cembellin (110th) and Ohio State's Martin Joyce (112th). In doubles, Ohio State’s Joyce and Torpegaard claimed the No. 11 spot followed by Chema Carranza and Josef Dodridge of Wisconsin at No. 19. Also ranked in the Top 90 doubles teams from the Big Ten were: Knight and Hua of Michigan (33rd), Joyce and Wolf of Ohio State (44th), Connor Johnston and Myles Schalet of Ohio State (64th), Brown and Caleb Chakravarthi of Illinois (66th), Kareem Allaf and Jonas Larsen of Iowa (87th) and Corwin and Spec of Minnesota (90th). To view the polls, click here.