2016-17 Men's Tennis Season in Review

June 9, 2017

Four Standouts Named All-Americans
The Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced the 2017 ITA All-Americans, with four Big Ten men’s tennis players garnering recognition. Ohio State’s Mikael Torpegaard and Hugo Di Feo earned the honor after earning the No. 1 and No. 7 seeds in the NCAA Men's Tennis Singles Championship, respectively. Illinois’ Aleks Vukic rounds out the singles list after earning All-American recognition after finishing the 2017 campaign ranked No. 7 in the final singles ranking. Ohio State’s doubles pair of Torpegaard and Herkko Pollanen earned All-America honors after finishing the season ranked No. 8 nationally in doubles. Click here for more information.

Tournament Champions
With a 4-1 victory over second-seeded Michigan, No. 1 seed Ohio State won the 2017 Big Ten Men's Tennis Tournament at Purdue’s Schwartz Tennis Center in West Lafayette, Ind. The Buckeyes earned their second-consecutive conference tournament crown and seventh overall. For more information on the Big Ten Tournament, click here.

And the Awards Go To
The Big Ten men’s tennis all-conference teams and individual awards were announced prior to the start of the Big Ten Tournament. Illinois’ Aleks Vukic was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, while Ohio State’s JJ Wolf earned Freshman of the Year honors and the Buckeyes’ Ty Tucker picked up Coach of the Year laurels. For more on the Big Ten honorees, click here.

Academic All-Big Ten Honorees 
The Big Ten Conference recognized a total of 1,645 students competing in spring and at-large sports who were named to the Academic All-Conference team. The list of honorees features 64 men’s tennis athletes. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, students must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher. Click here for the full list of honorees.



Undefeated Buckeyes Clinch Title
Ohio State clinched the outright Big Ten Men’s Tennis Championship after earning a 6-1 victory over Northwestern. The conference title marks the 12th consecutive and 16th overall in program history. Click here for more on Ohio State’s Big Ten title.

In the Polls
Four Big Ten schools, three singles players and one doubles pair were ranked among the top 25 in the final ITA rankings. Ohio State, Michigan, Illinois and Northwestern came in at fourth, 15th, 17th, 20th and 22nd, respectively. Ohio State’s Mikael Torpegaard led the conference in singles in the No. 2 position, while Illinois’ Aleks Vukic and Buckeye Hugo Di Feo earned sixth and 16th, respectively. In doubles, Ohio State’s Herkko Pollanen and Torpegaard claimed the No. 8 spot. To view the polls, click here.

Bouggy Earns Outstanding Sportsmanship Award
The Big Ten announced the 28 honorees named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2016-17 academic year. The standouts were chosen from a group of more than 350 students honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship. Highlighting the list is Purdue men’s tennis player Matt Bouggy. Click here for the full list of honorees.

ITA Regional Awards
Eleven Big Ten standouts from a combined five conference institutions earned recognition by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association. For more information, click here.

Central Region
ITA Rookie of the Year: Stefan Milicevic - University of Minnesota
ITA Community Service Award: University of Minnesota

Midwest Region
Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year: Ty Tucker - The Ohio State University
ITA Assistant Coach of the Year: Justin Kronauge - The Ohio State University
ITA Senior Player of the Year: Hugo Di Feo - The Ohio State University
ITA Rookie of the Year: JJ Wolf - The Ohio State University
ITA Player to Watch: Aron Hiltzik - University of Illinois
ITA/Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship Award: Sam Shopshire - Northwestern University

Ohio Valley Region
Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year: Pawel Gajdzik - Purdue
ITA Assistant Coach of the Year: Francisco Stuardo Vargas - Purdue
ITA Senior Player of the Year: Ricky Medinilla - Purdue
ITA Rookie of the Year: Stephan Koenigsfest - Purdue