2015-16 Men's Tennis Season in Review

June 14, 2016

Buckeye Reaches Singles Championship
Ohio State’s Mikael Torpegaard led the conference, as he advanced to the 2016 NCAA Men's Tennis Singles Championship match. Illinois, Michigan, Northwestern, Ohio State and Penn State all advanced to the team portion of the tournament, while Illinois' Aleks Vukic and Jared Hiltzik, Northwestern's Strong Kircheimer, Sam Shropshire and Konrad Zieba, Ohio State's Hugo Di Feo and Torpegaard and Purdue’s Gergely Madarasz qualified for the singles rounds. Ohio State's Herkko Pollanen and Torpegaard represented the Big Ten in the doubles competition. For information on the NCAA Tournament, click here.

Three Standouts Named All-Americans
The Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced the 2016 ITA All-Americans, with three Big Ten men’s tennis players garnering recognition. Illinois' Aleks Vukic and Jared Hiltzik and Ohio State's Mikael Torpegaard each tabbed honors following their performance in the NCAA Tournament. Click here for more information.

Tournament Champions
With a 4-1 victory over third-seeded Illinois, No. 1 seed Ohio State won the 2016 Big Ten Men's Tennis Tournament at Minnesota’s Baseline Tennis Center in Minneapolis, Minn. The Buckeyes earned their sixth conference tournament crown and first since 2014. For more information on the Big Ten Tournament, click here.

And the Awards Go To
The Big Ten men’s tennis All-Conference teams and individual awards were announced prior to the start of the Big Ten Tournament. Ohio State’s Mikael Torpegaard was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, fellow Buckeye Hugo Di Feo earned Freshman of the Year honors and Ohio State’s Ty Tucker picked up Coach of the Year laurels. For more on the Big Ten honorees, click here.

Academic All-Big Ten Honorees
The Big Ten Conference recognized a total of 1,537 students competing in spring and at-large sports who were named to the Academic All-Conference team. The list of honorees features 63 men’s tennis athletes. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, students must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher. Click here for the full list of honorees.

Undefeated Buckeyes Clinch Title
Ohio State clinched the No. 1 seed in the 2016 Big Ten Men’s Tennis Tournament and its 11th consecutive Big Ten Championship after completing the regular season with an 11-0 conference record. Click here for more on Ohio State’s Big Ten title.

In the Polls
Four Big Ten schools, three singles players and one doubles pair were ranked among the top 25 in the final ITA rankings. Ohio State, Northwestern, Illinois and Michigan came in at fourth, 15th, 18th and 25th, respectively. Ohio State’s Mikael Torpegaard led the conference in singles in the No. 2 position, while Illinois’ Aleks Vukic and Jared Hiltzik earned sixth and 16th, respectively. In doubles, Ohio State’s Herkko Pollanen and Torpegaard claimed the No. 14 spot. To view the polls, click here.