Michigan State to Host 27th Annual Big Ten Men's Tennis Singles Championship

Nov. 10, 2005

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

PARK RIDGE, IL - Michigan State University will showcase some of the top Conference men's tennis student-athletes this weekend, November 11-14, as the Spartans host the 27th Big Ten Men's Tennis Singles Championship.

The event consists of a main draw, two consolation draws and a qualifying draw. The main draw is comprised of 56 student-athletes from 10 of the Conference men's tennis teams, while 20 student-athletes compete in the qualifying draw. The players in both the main and qualifying draws are seeded for the bracket by the Big Ten coaches.

This year's top seed in the main draw is Wisconsin's Jeremy Sonkin.  The Badger sophomore led the team in wins in 2004, while playing at the No. 2 singles spot and the No. 3 doubles position.  Sonkin, who finished last season 16-5, will face Michigan State's Joe McWilliams in the first round.  Also highlighting the field are Ohio State's Scott Green and Ross Wilson, who defended their ITA National Indoor Doubles Championship at the Racquet Club of Columbus on Sunday. The Buckeye pair became the first duo to win consecutive titles at the event in the tournament's 27-year history.

Competition begins at 9 a.m. ET on Friday, November 11, at the MSU Tennis Center in East Lansing, Mich., in the qualifying round.  Main draw competition begins Saturday at 8 a.m.  Results will be made available on msuspartans.com.  The event is free and open to the public.