Big Ten Men's Tennis Opens Spring Slate This Week

Dec. 31, 2012

Park Ridge, Ill. -

The 2013 Big Ten men’s tennis spring schedule begins this week with Indiana and Michigan taking to the court for the first time in 2013. The Hoosiers travel to Boca Raton, Fla., to compete in the Four Conference Showdown on Jan. 1-6, while the Wolverines open their season at the Key Biscayne Individuals in Key Biscayne, Fla., on Jan. 6-8.

Illinois and Ohio State make their 2013 debuts on Jan. 11, as the Fighting Illini compete at the Illini Open in Fort Meyers, Fla., and the defending Big Ten Champion Buckeyes travel to Houston, Texas, for the Rice Invitational. The next day, Michigan State opens its season with duals against Wright State and Detroit, and Purdue hosts a tripleheader with Toledo, Butler and IUPUI.

On Jan. 13, Nebraska travels to Lexington, Ky., to take on Kentucky, while Northwestern welcomes Ball State and Western Michigan to Evanston, Ill. Minnesota and Penn State both host duals the following weekend, as the Golden Gophers host Northern Illinois, and the Nittany Lions welcome NC State, Cornell and Cleveland State to University Park, Pa.

Iowa opens play on Jan. 25 against Illinois State, and Wisconsin starts its season Jan. 26, hosting duals against Southern Illinois and UMKC.

Minnesota and Wisconsin square off in the first Big Ten dual of the season on Feb. 23. The Big Ten Championships, hosted by Ohio State, take place April 25-28.